Edvard Munch’s Mani

I know Edvard Munch, the Norwegian painter of “The Scream,” probably wouldn’t have gotten a manicure. This is the original painting:

I’m not sure if nail polish was widely used in his lifetime. But this is what he might have worn:

Yes, I spent my Friday night painting the Scream on a set of nails.  But, in my defense, my guy was working late, I didn’t feel like cleaning, and I don’t watch much TV. So, of course, I busted out the polish and a teeny paint brush!

The base was gold, and I mixed up each color individually using my trusty silicone baking cups. I used Nubar Chocolate Caramel for the base on the road.  These are too big for me to wear, so they’re going up for sale, but I plan to make my own set soon.

I’m finishing up the last few frankens I’ve been working on, plus I have a couple custom orders to finish, so it looks like I’ll be having a polish-filled weekend.  But it’s also cherry blossom time, so I’m going to make some time to enjoy those too.

Coming up, I have the giant pigment set from Coastal Scents to review.  I’ve been so busy I actually haven’t opened it yet, but I’m sure to find a few fab pigments to share with you soon.

About nevertoomuchglitter

Nail artist. Wanderer. I'm a color-holic, in fact, it was my love of color that brought me to the nail art world. Well, that, and the fact I was too cheap to pay crazy Japanese prices for nail polish while living in Tokyo, so I had to start mixing my own. That's how NTMG began.
This entry was posted in Nail polish, NTMG Original Nail Art and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

33 Responses to Edvard Munch’s Mani

  1. Whoa, nice job! I didn’t like the movie, but I like these nails 🙂

    ~April

    • nevertoomuchglitter says:

      These were actually based off a painting called “The Scream” by a Norwegian artist from the 1900s.

      Check out the original and tell me if you think it looks like the nails!

  2. kayluh says:

    Those are so awesome!! You’ve inspired me to do some nail art based on paintings!! lol I pretty much started the whole nail art when I saw your blog a few months back!!

    • nevertoomuchglitter says:

      Thanks Kayluh! Isn’t it fun? It does take a lot of practice but I find it’s really rewarding.

      • kayluh says:

        It’s great fun! Reckon I’ve tried to make this one shade of green over thirty times but I can never get it right. I wish I had as many polishes as you!

    • nevertoomuchglitter says:

      Thank you- glad you liked them!!
      Maybe I could paint a Kawaii version for you with a hairbow and a Lolita dress. 😉

  3. Kristine says:

    that is sooooooo nice 😀

    It’s a competition for this kind of nail art, you should enter 😀
    http://blogs.nailsmag.com/365NailArt/archive/2010/04/07/Hey-Nail-Artists-Its-Time-to-Dust-Off-Your-Berets.aspx

    And I love the fact that you know who he is 🙂 It makes my Norwegian heart proud 🙂

  4. nevertoomuchglitter says:

    Aw, thanks Kristine! I may enter the contest! It might be fun!
    Me and my guy are actually planning a trip to Norway next year. He’s a big fan of Norwegian heavy metal music, which to me sounds horrible, but we’re both looking forward to visiting.

  5. Kristine says:

    I agree with you on the music 😉 And I’m always surprised to see how popular it is outside norway 😀

  6. nevertoomuchglitter says:

    I think heavy metal and brunost (gjetost?) cheese are definitely the two most popular Norwegian things in my house. At least the cheese is tasty. 😉
    I’m really looking forward to going there, but it seems as if the prices are quite high. I’ll feel right at home after living n Tokyo!

    • Elin says:

      I say brunost( I live in sweden but my dad are from norway).Brunost means brown-cheese. Gjetost means goat-cheese. (ost=cheese) Both are corecct cause the cheese is a brown goat-cheese.

  7. Rebecca says:

    These are amazing! You’re very talented!

  8. nevertoomuchglitter says:

    Either way, it’s delicious! It’s rather expensive overseas but it’s always a treat. The first time I ate it when I was young, I thought it was a piece of fudge or candy, so I was VERY surprised!

  9. Amanda C. says:

    Those nails totally blow my mind — in the best way, though. 😀

  10. Frank says:

    You should try Van Gough’s Starry Night.

    • nevertoomuchglitter says:

      Frank,
      Great minds think alike, because that’s my next plan! I also want to try Klimt’s “The Kiss” on a gold foil base.

  11. lilynail says:

    this mani is fun !! you’re really an nail artist 🙂

  12. Pingback: Share The Love: Sunday Reads « Lazy Beautiful

  13. Jessi says:

    Wow, you are really talented. That is just beautiful!

  14. Lucy says:

    Beautiful job you’ve done on these nails. Have you ever painted your own canvases? I should imagine you’d be an amazing artist.

    • nevertoomuchglitter says:

      I’ve been painting since I was a teenager and I do quite a bit of other non-nail art, though it’s been difficult since I grew up and started working and didn’t have as much time on my hands as when I was a student.

  15. Pingback: Starry Starry Nails « Nevertoomuchglitter’s Weblog

  16. Chia says:

    This is sooo awesome!! I’m in Medschool, and we just finished schizophrenia, and this pic was definitely mentioned, due to the fact that they think Edward suffered from this…You do great pics and nails, I just found your site today, and will be watching 🙂

    • nevertoomuchglitter says:

      Thanks for stopping by! Wow, med school?! That is very cool.

      I just did another set of nail art based on a possibly mentally ill guy- Vincent Van Gogh! I’ll be working my way through the DSMIV. 😉

  17. Pingback: Salvador Dali- Persistence of Memory Nail Art « Nevertoomuchglitter’s Weblog

  18. Pingback: How To: Mondrian Nails | All in the Blush

  19. Pingback: How To: Mondrian Nails

Leave a comment