Starry Starry Nails

Whew!  Things have been busy in the NeverTooMuchGlitter world!  Monday, Tuesday and Wednesday of this week were national holidays in Japan, and I did some dull stuff like put together furniture (to hold more nail supplies), cleaned the house, etc.  But I also went for a motorcycle ride, and painted some kickin’ nails. I’ve been trying to make enough to put 100 items in my Etsy shop, but it’s pretty labor intensive since I do everything from photography, production and mailing by myself.  It’s a one-woman show, but my guy usually picks up the slack by washing dishes and doing laundry.

Here’s some of what I’ve been making in the past week, in order of fabulousness:

Melaka Gravestone- There are some really old graves in Melaka, Malaysia that I saw last time I visited, with intricate etchings and happy skulls and crossbones. I’m a sucker for teeny skulls and crossbones.

A Sushi Set, with Japanese sushi-related words and California rolls:

And here’s my favorite- I think I gave it away in the title of the post!

It’s Starry Night by Vincent Van Gogh.

I started off with blank nails, of course, and then painted the base with Orly Star of Bombay, a deep navy blue. These are entirely painted with nail polish. I might have had an easier time and more vivid results with some acrylic paint, but the nail polish is more durable and waterproof. One of the tricky parts on this one was finding a yellow bright enough to pop against the deep blues. I actually laid down the yellow areas with white first and then went over them. I don’t know of any yellows that are opaque in one coat.

I usually work at a desk, but these require really close work, so I paint them while sitting on the couch with a lapdesk.

I use a plastic board with double sided foam tape to hold the nails horizontal and a silicone baking cup for a palette. The paintbrush I use is tiny, about 1mm wide.

I haven’t put these up for sale yet. I was going to paint a tiny gold picture frame around the edges but I don’t know if I want to or not.

This is the second set of nails that I’ve done based on classic paintings. The first was The Scream. I’m thinking of what I want to try next, maybe The Persistence of Memory by Salvador Dali.

About nevertoomuchglitter

Nail artist. Wanderer. I'm a color-holic, in fact, it was my love of color that brought me to the nail art world. Well, that, and the fact I was too cheap to pay crazy Japanese prices for nail polish while living in Tokyo, so I had to start mixing my own. That's how NTMG began.
This entry was posted in Nail polish, NTMG Original Nail Art and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to Starry Starry Nails

  1. OMG!!! THESE ARE AMAZING! I CAN HAZ NAO????!!!!???!!!

  2. Meredith says:

    I’m generally a lurker, but I just HAD to comment on the Starry Night nails. They’re AMAZING. You’re so talented!

    • nevertoomuchglitter says:

      Thanks for your comment! It’s probably not skill- just way too much time on my hands! I’m glad you liked them. 😉

  3. Rebecca says:

    The sushi set is very cute! I love all things food related 😛

    Your nail version of Starry Night is beautiful! You have some crazy good painting skills!

  4. Jackie S. says:

    I love the sushi nails!

  5. Pia says:

    Wooow at the Starry Night nails, they’re amazing!
    And: この sushi nails が大好き!!(lol, I hope this shows up as proper hiragana and not just a bunch of random numbers and questionmarks ^^)

    • nevertoomuchglitter says:

      正ですよ!I’m glad you liked them. As you probably saw, I wrote 大好き on the sushi nails too. Now I’m hungry! 😉

  6. Alice says:

    OMG I love starry night! it’s one of my favourite by Van G!!! you are an artist!

    • nevertoomuchglitter says:

      Hi Alice, glad you liked them. It’s one of my favorites by him too. I might do a manicure with a bunch of his different paintings, like Sunflowers, etc.

  7. Annabelle says:

    hahaha, how ong did the starry night nails take you?? they look amazing.

    • nevertoomuchglitter says:

      Hi Annabelle, actually it wasn’t tooo bad. Each nail was about 20 minutes. I did each step on every nail and then moved onto the next. The polish dries quickly so you’ve got to work fast.

  8. Everytime I see your work it gets better and better! You really have these down to an art form girl!

    • nevertoomuchglitter says:

      Thanks Brooke! Next up, I think I should do a formal nail-sized portrait of Dinky and Banana, complete with a gold frame. 😉

  9. Ashley says:

    I am your typical nail blog lurker, never usually taking time to leave a comment. However, your Starry Night nails almost moved me to tears. Van Gogh has a special place in my heart as it has ties to very nice memories, but to see the work replicated on nails is amazing. You are a true artist and I felt compelled to leave you a comment to let you know.

    • nevertoomuchglitter says:

      Thanks for taking the time to stop by and leave a comment! If you would like your own custom-made set of Starry Night nails, I sell them in my Etsy shop for $26. I’m headed on holiday soon so I don’t have them listed at the moment but I’m always happy to do a custom order.

  10. suncakes says:

    Your nail art is amazing in general, but those Starry Nails take the cake. Gorgeous. <33

  11. Pingback: Salvador Dali- Persistence of Memory Nail Art « Nevertoomuchglitter’s Weblog

Leave a Reply

