Eyeshadow to Nail Polish Fun with LA Girl Palettes!

I confess, I still have a thing for David Bowie. I mean, the 80s version with the crazy makeup.  That long-buried desire was probably what motivated me to buy this wacky eyeshadow palette. Pale jewel tones? Pale METALLIC jewel tones that I will never wear in a million years? Yes, I blame you, DB. ::skitters away, humming ‘Golden Years.’::

LA Girl is a drugstore brand aimed at teens, but it’s vegan and cruelty-free. This is great, especially for affordable mass-market cosmetics.  I can’t speak to its qualities as an eyeshadow, because I haven’t found an occasion to wear metallic gentian purple eyeshadow anywhere yet. Plus, in 90 degree weather with 95% humidity, I’m sure no cosmetics will perform terribly well. The texture is very, very dry and powdery with very little binder, which might not be great for eyeshadow but makes a lovely polish. In fact, it is so powdery that I’d recommend wearing a dust mask when working with this, unless you want your lungs to be very colorful. This is the 10 C0lor Palette called “Nightlife.”

Make Nail Polish From Eyeshadow by NeverTooMuchGlitter

To make eyeshadow into nail polish, you’ll need some clear nail polish, a little mixing dish (I always use a silicone baking cup for easy cleanup) and an brush or applicator to get the polish out.

The short version of how to do it: Use a brush to loosed the eyeshadow into your mixing dish, then add clear nail polish drop by drop. Swirl it around, and test the opacity and thickness as you go. When you’re satisfied, start painting your nails! There’s more in-depth tutorials here and here.

Since the finish on these eyeshadows was metallic, the resulting polish was also metallic. The metallic shine on the eyeshadow does go all the way through, it is not just a dusting on the surface. I hate that! Due to the metallic finish, the polish was a bit brush-strokey, but not too awful. I found the paler colors lacked a bit of oomph, but  this palette yielded some pretty nail polish shades.

Eyeshadow into Nail Polish 2.

LA Girl Nightlife Eyeshadow Nail Polish

This is two coats of each shade with a coat of Seche Vite. You will need a topcoat with these, since it lacks shine on its own. If you like a satin finish, you could leave them as-is, but they don’t wear as well. I did a pedicure with the warm gold polish- we’ll see how the polish performs and I’ll report back.  I will spare all my lovely readers the view of my toes. 😉 Usually these eyeshadow frankens wear pretty solidly on me, at least as well as regular polish.

The subliminal power of David Bowie also made me buy two more of these palettes in different rainbow shades, which I will show in the next few posts. Thank goodness LA Girl isn’t too expensive, or he’d be really dangerous to my wallet. In Singapore, where cosmetics prices seem double or triple the US price, these cost me around $12USD each. Scandalous, I know, but it seems like a deal when a single MAC eyeshadow is around $25-30US.

About nevertoomuchglitter

Nail artist. Wanderer. I'm a color-holic, in fact, it was my love of color that brought me to the nail art world. Well, that, and the fact I was too cheap to pay crazy Japanese prices for nail polish while living in Tokyo, so I had to start mixing my own. That's how NTMG began.
This entry was posted in Mixed Colors (Frankens) and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Eyeshadow to Nail Polish Fun with LA Girl Palettes!

  1. Emma says:

    Wow, i love the last two purple ones!! 🙂

    • nevertoomuchglitter says:

      Me too- those indigo purples are my favorite. They both did look distinctly different in person, but my camera didn’t really differentiate and they look very similar in the photo.

  2. Really pretty colors! good job 🙂

  3. Ann Lynn Dailey says:

    These are some really pretty colors. The blue and purple hues make me think of Easter, which is not too far away.

    • nevertoomuchglitter says:

      I really like these colors. There’s another palette with all pastel tones that I’ll review next. Easter is sooner than it seems- I have some fun nail art ideas for it too!

  4. Frankenstyna says:

    oooo love this palette! Fun colors!

    • nevertoomuchglitter says:

      I like the colors too. I don’t know if I’ll ever wear any of them (except maybe to an 80s party) but it’s fun to experiment. 🙂

  5. Pingback: Nail Polish with LA Girl Colorsurge Eyeshadow Palette | Nevertoomuchglitter's Weblog

  6. Pingback: Re-use, Re-purpose, Recycle; More ways to find new life in those old items - Begin to Craft

  7. Heather Stiletto says:

    WOW – I cannot believe the prices. I buy those kits literally for one dollar at my local Dollar Tree. But a FUN idea!

    • nevertoomuchglitter says:

      Yes, cosmetic were terribly expensive overseas/ Actually, most everything was more expensive than it would be in the States, except food and locally made things. Any American brands (even if they were made in China!) were double the cost. It was painful!

Leave a comment