Seriously?!?

I just read this recent article on CNN about nail art. It shows some nail art, NY Fashion Week,  the growing nail art market, and discusses nail art being shown on social media. Nail art has been taking off in the past few years, and it’s a fun, non-permanent form of art and self-expression.

That’s all well and good. What really bothered me from the article was the comments. They are really appalling. Most of them are not-so-thinly veiled racism/classism, with a few random idiotic comments thrown in for good measure.

Since I’m apparently a low-class, trashy, uneducated slob because I like nail art, it should be no threat to any of the erudite commenters if  l pull a few quotes from the comments and expand upon them (comments in italics, my response in bold).

Comments About The Correlation Between Nail Art And Having A Crap Job

“I really like these nails. When people show up for job interviews with these talons I know I can cut it short because I would never hire an individual with junk like this on their fingers.”

“A new form of self-expression, indeed…This form of self-expression says “I want a low paying job, but will be eager to complain I can’t get a higher paying job.

“Those talons are gross and are “low class.” Good luck getting a job or being promoted into a better one. Nails should be simple, clean and well groomed, IMO.” 

Eeek! As a female VP in a multinational corporation, I would NEVER dream of doing this… And I would never hire someone with this mess either. Does not read as “serious” enough, nor someone I could put in front of executives.”- Really, before I ditched the corporate life, your position would have reported to me. Luckily, all the executives I’ve worked with/for seem to value talent and skill rather than focus on my nails. Perhaps you need to blend in to keep your job, since you have no other particularly distinguishing talents?

Well, me and my trashy hands with “junk like this on my fingers” worked in a very high-level job at a major corporation where my only boss was the CEO. Granted, it was in Japan, but I have to say their work attire is more conservative than the US, not less. 

Hey Folks, If You Don’t Paint Your Nails, We Can Go Back To Eden!

The entire world is crumbling and America is going down daily and all these twits can do is play with their damned nails? Give me a break! You are doing artwork on your NAILS while innocent people are dying all over the world? You are a bunch of ignorant and stupid females that have NEVER grown up!

I hope you have NEVER spent money or time on ANY grooming, entertainment or ever had any fun while innocent people are dying! In fact, what on earth are you doing: a) reading CNN; and b) commenting on articles when you should be out SAVING people?! We need you to tell us how to grow up and be smart like you. I bet you’re a blast at at parties.

Just Put On Your KKK Gear And Be Done With It..At Least I’d Respect Your Honesty

“I’d like to see the correlation between nails like this and voting for Obama.”

“Where I’m from, we call those nails “ghetto talons”.  Only a crackhead would walk around thinking those nail designs look good.

Nail Art Fans Are Useless Fatasses!

Did you ever notice that a lot of fat women have awesome nails and get them done?  Instead of sitting on your a** getting your nails done take the money you spend on nails, and buy a membership to a  gym you can get one for about 15-30 bucks a month and get on a treadmill and start walking soon you will see less of a need for nails.”

I’m scrawny as heck and I have awesome nails. Oh, and where’s this mythical gym that costs $15? Also, if you lose weight, you lose interest in your personal appearance? And…if you’re so smart and you know the solution to everyone’s problems, how come you can’t write a decent sentence? Did you lose your commas at your mythical $15 gym on the magical treadmill?

Just Plain Stupid

“I wonder how many women spending money on this expect free birth control?”

???? Ladies, unlike the commenter, don’t go to any nail salon where the tech does your nails, turns around, and then whips on a lab coat and proceeds to give you birth control injections as a Gift With Purchase. Likewise, don’t go to any gyno who checks your ladybits and then starts painting your toenails while you’re still in the stirrups. Nail art and gynecology are two different things. Don’t go anywhere where it’s a one stop shop. 😉

“IME, the more outlandish the nails are, the uglier (inside and outside), less confident and less educated is the woman sporting them.”

I am a hideous hosebeast who dropped out of school in kindergarten. Just kidding, I had a top-notch education with a good variety of scholarships thrown in. No one has ever told me I’m horrible to look at. My insides, however, are probably pink and slimy. I’ll give you that one.

“It’s amazing how far people will go to try and make themselves feel that they are something special….even if they are not! I’m not sure how walking around with bizarre designs on your fingernails helps you feel good about yourself….maybe the folks who do this have too much money and too little sense.”

Are you the Grand Poo-Bah Of Specialness? Are you the only person who can decide who is Something Special? And, if it’s not YOUR money being spent, what business is it of yours how others use their money? Please tell me you don’t have tattoos, designer clothes or anything else that might prompt others to judge your “specialness” against their own standards.

“So men can tell women these nails are crap and not attractive in the least.  A plain solid color ( except black ) or frenched nails will do and have much more class.  If this is personal expression then you need H E L P.”

I need H E L P!

***************

Why is everyone frayed so thin, so ready to snap and judge over something like nail art?  I mean, apparently, I’m ignorant, unemployable, stupid (and also demanding free birth control!) because I like to paint stuff on my nails. I mean, heaven forbid I actually just think it’s a fun thing to do. Aren’t we past the “only-prostitutes-wear-lipstick” phase yet?

Why so much hatred and judgment for people who do things differently from you? Is it hurting you? Is it hurting them? Is it dangerous? Heck, it’s not even PERMANENT.

There are folks who take time to register and leave comments on my blog reaming me out for being an N-lover and promoting N-word nails (they used the whole word, of course) which makes no sense since I was showing nails from the Tokyo Nail Expo. Apparently, the Japanese nail professionals there just had on *really* good disguises. But you can’t use logic on people with closed minds. It simply does not work.

I can see the “it’s a waste of time” argument. OK, for those who have a problem with the perceived lack of productivity, do YOU have any downtime? Do you watch movies or get your hair done or read a book or mess around on the Internet? I hope not! I hope your every waking moment is spent Doing Important Things To Save The World.

I can also see the “it’s tacky” argument. So what? Lots of things are, it’s in the eye of the beholder. I have fun and enjoy myself with it, and my nail art brings a smile to people’s faces more often than not. I don’t paint my nails for the general public, I paint them for myself. It doesn’t hurt anyone else. It can start a conversation or give me a little pickup on a dark day. What’s so wrong with that? If you don’t like nail art/Ugg boots/costume jewelry/Hawaiian print shirts, then don’t buy them! Simple. So simple, in fact, that an uneducated ignoramus nail art fan can come up with it!

And if you’re slamming people who (you perceive) are into nail art because you don’t like “their kind” as a whole, that is just pure cowardice.  At least stand up and have the guts to admit you’re a racist and everything “those people” do disgusts you, and there is nothing “they” could do that you would approve of.  Because it’s really not about their nails at all, is it?

Phew. Rant over. I usually don’t focus on the negative, but I was just so appalled. Just a little note for the prolific N-word users: I am moderating ALL comments.  If you want to post hateful/racist/classist comments, my blog will not be a vehicle for you.

ETA: For the folks who contacted me and said I was taking nails as overly seriously as the original commenters on CNN, you’ve missed my point.  What really bothers me about these comments is not the fact that some people don’t like nail art. Of course it’s not for everyone and I don’t expect it to be. People call my nails tacky all the time (and I tend to agree with them, LOL!)  What really bothered me is how the commenters stereotype a whole group of people as being ghetto-dwelling, unemployable, uneducated, Obama voters demanding free birth control because they like nail art. THAT’S the real issue.

Next post will be back to our regularly scheduled sparkly fabulousness. 🙂

About nevertoomuchglitter

Nail artist. Wanderer. I'm a color-holic, in fact, it was my love of color that brought me to the nail art world. Well, that, and the fact I was too cheap to pay crazy Japanese prices for nail polish while living in Tokyo, so I had to start mixing my own. That's how NTMG began.
This entry was posted in Nail Art and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

46 Responses to Seriously?!?

  1. OMG i totally get you.. my nail art is waaay more simple than yours.. but the only 2 times people had told me I’m ghetto i just answer: that wasn’t what your mom told me last night when I pimped out her ugly nails..

    one of them told me: wow you didn’t need to be offensive.. i was all like: exactly, neither did you.

    see the thing is that people doesn’t like one stuff and internet gives them the freedom to express how much they hate stuff.. most of these people (more than 95%) are UNLIKELY to comment in something positive, their life is SO sad that they need to register themselves in a page just to rant about something that don’t affect them, just because their life is too sad and complaining about it won’t help them, so it is easier to take it on others..

    just ignore people like that. i am the director of my department in an advertising agency, i use nail art, clients LOVE my nails and follow the blog and everything.. just, ignore them.. it is not worth it.

  2. nevertoomuchglitter says:

    LOL at the yo’ mama comment! Hopefully it sank in…The Internet allows people to say things they’d never say in person and there are definitely a lot of creepy folks on my “ignore” list. I generally don’t give them the time of day, but this one just bugged me. If ya don’t like nail art, don’t go looking for it! 😉

  3. Nailmattic says:

    Omg wow these people are mad…. Keep doin u because I know I’m going to keep wearing nail polish. I don’t do crazy designs but not saying that I wouldn’t. People with so much hate and negativity WILL get theirs, trust. They hide behind the computer, that’s basically all they can do.

    • nevertoomuchglitter says:

      Right on! What goes around comes around, and if I meet these folks in person I only need one sparkly digit to show those folks what I think of them- that is, if they ever dare speak their mind if they’re not hiding behind a computer. 😉

  4. I was surprised by what they wrote, and how many bad comments there were. I just told my boyfriend about these comments, and he said that we shouldn’t care about those comments, because there are some people who are haters, who just hate, hate, hate… It’s not just us who get hate comments. It seems like haters is a known problem on internet in general, but it’s not easy to not take it personal.

    • nevertoomuchglitter says:

      I totally agree with you, and usually I just ignore haters, but it seems that hating nail art is just an excuse for hating other kinds of people. I mean, the Obama comments and birth control? It’s not the nail art hate that really bugs me, it’s the using it as barely disguised racism. I think that’s why people have such a crazy amount of hate for really what is a pretty innocent hobby/fashion. I’m suspecting a lot of the nail art hate isn’t really about nails at all.

  5. Johanna says:

    Damn girl, you rock, pure and simple!!!

    • nevertoomuchglitter says:

      Thank you! I’m not usually this negative and I don’t generally give these folks the time of day, but this really bugged me!

  6. Tina says:

    I love this entry! and the “one stop shop” stuff, so funny – although I’m not sure I’d be against the one stop shop if the person was qualified 😉

  7. ReecesPeeces says:

    I am friends with a nurse, couple of scientists, teacher, architect, secretary, engineer, SAHM, speech therapist, psychiatrist, pharmacist etc who love nail polish and nail art. I work in a hospital, and all the staff love to come and have a look at my nails. Why so much vitriol for something so benign? Makes me so stabby. I LOVE THIS RANT.

    • nevertoomuchglitter says:

      Yeah, right on! You actually said it better than I did- why the vitriol for something so benign? THAT’S what really bugs me- because it’s not about nails. I think a huge part of it is racism and classism. I’ve had commenters go on and on about N-nails…but that makes NO sense. I’m white, in Japan, and all of the models/artists mentioned were Japanese. There wasn’t one of the people they hated even mentioned, but they had to toss around the N-word, which had nothing to do with anything. But in their mind, it did. Scary. It’s like an obsession- they’ve decided a certain kind of bad people they hate like nail art, so nail art is bad. Facts and logic do not matter to these ignorant folks.

  8. August says:

    Those people are talking about being “classy” and that you should have clean nails so that you can climb the ranks and get higher in your jobs. They are probably just faceless, cookie-cutter people who only care about how much money they get. I would rather be poor, happy, and expressing myself than rich, boring, and following looking like everyone else.

    That felt good to say!

    • nevertoomuchglitter says:

      Better still, how about having a good job and nail art? It’s happened at least once in the world, ’cause I had nails and worked a high-paying corporate job. But if I had to choose between being a corporate zombie or expressing myself, the expression would work out every time. 🙂

  9. sara says:

    Heaven forbid anyone stick out at all, we have tattoos, colored hair, makeup, jewelry all as self expression, why cant painted nails be in that category?

    • nevertoomuchglitter says:

      E-xactly! People act like nail art can blind people in a crowd or something. (Well, some of it can with enough rhinestones!) It’s not hurting anyone. If ya don’t like it, don’t wear it!

  10. sugarcube717 says:

    I noticed you needed H E L P.
    Here is an “H”. I’ll put it at the beginning of “Hilarious” for safe keeping.
    Here’s an “E” as in “Expression”. Oh, it’s so ghetto fabulous.
    Here’s an “L” and 5 bonus letters “LOVE IT”
    and a “P” for “Please never stop painting those beautiful nails. Keep showing off those awesome designs. You inspire the rest of us and brighten our days and you do it with a space no bigger than an inch. Let’s see these people do that.”
    That one had a bunch of bonus letters. Feel free to arrange a few choice C F K O U and Ys to your middle fingers a la Lindsay Lohan.

    • nevertoomuchglitter says:

      Aw, thank you! I’m not going to let anyone get in between me and my polish! LL’s nails cracked me up- she should have gone for something a bit more subtle, like the words painted on a lace background or something so the judge couldn’t see the F U across the room. If the judge had held her in contempt of court, it could have been the first ever mani that caused jail time ever!

  11. Laurie says:

    I have felt the anger and disparaging looks too. I used to work for the VA as a secretary. I am a henna artist & did my own hands several times. I was severely chastised for it. How it was so improper. I finally told my boss it was a part of my religion – to which they are legally unable to make me stop after that. Sad I had to go to those lengths just for an expression of beauty that is only temporary same as nails. Blessings on your work Gal .. the beauty will prevail ..

    • nevertoomuchglitter says:

      Good for you- if you had henna heart and flowers, is that really offensive to anyone? I mean, unless it was henna swastikas or something, which I really can’t imagine. I do some henna myself sometimes, though it is totally accepted where I live due to the large Indian population.

  12. Nina says:

    What the hell, I never realised ppl can be that sad! They’ve got so little to do they have time to spend for writing mean comments? I think they’re the ones in need of H.E.L.P if they can make that big thing of nails. I cannot decide should I laugh or should I cry 😀

    “It’s amazing how far people will go to try and make themselves feel that they are something special….even if they are not! I’m not sure how walking around with bizarre designs on your fingernails helps you feel good about yourself….maybe the folks who do this have too much money and too little sense.”

    ^^ I, infact, feel good about my “bizarre” nails (and tattoos and shaved hair- omg, I must be a criminal, at least). Like there would be anything bad for enjoying nail art! 😀 I’m a full-time mom myself and if I find something that make me feel good I’ll totally go for it, no matter what anyone thinks.

    PS I love the name of your blog. There can never be too much glitter <3.
    PPS Sorry for my poor english!

    • nevertoomuchglitter says:

      Hi Nina!
      Thank you for stopping by and I’m glad you liked the blog name. I think your English is very good! Good for you for having a sense of individuality. 😀

  13. Kitty Chen says:

    Hey NTMG. I usually don’t comment. I’m more of a lurker. But I just had to comment on this. I personally believe that the world is not as kind as it could be and this is not anything new. People can just be really mean no matter what. I personally don’t think you are a “n-lover.” That is really offensive. I think it’s the veil of anonymity that comes with commenting on the internet. It’s an inevitable nature of human beings. We all have these racist, unlikely behaviour we would never expose in rl. I really enjoy nail art and appreciate all the work. I believe that nail art is a high form of art even as sculptures and paintings. But it’s relatively new, and alot of people just don’t understand and appreciate it as well as we all do. Maybe it just takes time for everyone to see the awesomeness of nail art for the whole world to be more accepting 🙂

    That’s just my 2 cents. I have a problem with being scatterbrain. Hope it’s clear enough though.

    Btw, just wanted to add that I love your blog and that you brought up something as important as this article. I don’t think enough people address this issue.

    • nevertoomuchglitter says:

      Hi Kitty, thanks for stopping by and commenting! It’s really true- being anonymous really allows people to voice things they never would in real life. It’s not all bad, but the downside is definitely that people get more and more hateful just to get a reaction or because they’re angry at the world. The racist stuff really took me by surprise the first time I got it. My aunt married a black man and my cousins are mixed-race and lovely, so the n-word really bothered me. I can’t believe there’s people who still think like that!

      And I’m a scatterbrain too! I hope nail art will come to be appreciated as an art, even if it’s ‘tacky’ much of it does take a lot of skill. 🙂

  14. The comments people left are absolutely ridiculous and totally inaccurate! You can look totally put together and have a funky or unique set of nails. Just like you can dress yourself in a way that is creative, yet still put together. I have always been a creative type, and admire others who also let their imagination have a say in the way they present themselves to the world. Great read!

    • nevertoomuchglitter says:

      Thank you! That’s a point I really agree with- you can be professional, yet not-cookie cutter. I mean, of course there are some limits and common-sense rules but self-expression is not a crime. At least I hope not!

  15. Frankenstyna says:

    To each their own. If you don’t like it, don’t look at my nails. Simple. There are worse things in the world. Art is art.

    Good thing none of the great artists and musicians we enjoy decided that their contribution would frivolous because they should have spent that time weaving blankets for the poor or something.

    Funny thing is when people judge and pettily criticize others, they are usually projecting their own insecurities or their life just is plain boring where they have time to fret over something that is none of their business.

    • nevertoomuchglitter says:

      LOL at the blanket comment! There are some folks I wish had taken up blanket weaving instead of becoming ‘musicians’ but that’s just a personal opinion. 😛 I’m glad when people who have creative talents nurture them. Plus who says we can’t do creative things *and* be decent people who help others at the same time? I don’t kick down old ladies in order to rush to the nail polish counter (usually). 😉

  16. Rachel Marie says:

    Stuff like this totally pisses me off. And your comments are beyond amazing but- I find that most of the people on the internet that take their time to say crazy stuff like that are whack-jobs sitting in front of the computer just finding something else to take a stance on.
    😛

    • nevertoomuchglitter says:

      Yeah, you’re right- they are whack jobs and I shouldn’t have probably answered them but I just got irritated! Oddly enough, I get lots of nail-art hate comments on the blog but have yet to get one in public. Maybe folks on the street are too temporarily stunned by my nails to speak?
      😉

  17. weddingqueen says:

    Great post!!!! I work for Microsoft and folks loveeeeee my nails! Coworkers and customers alike like to come and see my nail design for the month. You’re right though…these articles are just thinly veiled avenues for people to spout their racist classist remarks without taking responsibility for what they are saying! I blame the websites! Like you, these websites have the power to moderate the comment stream but they don’t. Yes we have the right to speech but we don’t need THAT type of speech in the world! You can’t say what you want at work….so why should you be able to on a public forum? Keep moderating your comment streams lady! I love your blog and think you’re awesome!!! Don’t let that negativity taint the positivity and goodness and just plain happiness that you’re putting out into the world!

    • nevertoomuchglitter says:

      Thank you! I’m glad we’ve got a Microsofter weighing in. Maybe you should do a Bill Gates design. 😛 I hate the fact that people are mixing racism and classism in with nail art. Really people. I’m all for free speech, of course, but I just resent the people who hide their hateful views behind how others style their nails.

  18. Joan barker says:

    Really insightfull rant and comments from bloggers. Proud of you.

    • nevertoomuchglitter says:

      Thank you- usually I just ignore those negative people but this one just got under my (and a few other peoples’) skin! People seem to be really keyed up, I don’t know if it’s always been that way or if the anonymous nature of the Internet just makes it worse, but people in the US seem angrier than I remember just 5 or 10 years ago. Usually I try not to add fuel to the fire, but that article just drew out the dark side of the glitter troll. 😉

    • nevertoomuchglitter says:

      Thank you! ❤

  19. Fantastic post! Some people are just sad, sad, sad. Plain and simple. If you’ve got nothing better to do than to actively judge others based on a harmless hobby, not just in passing in your own mind, but “out loud” in a public forum, well… sure looks like YOU need to find yourself a hobby, rather than bash on that of others and infer all sorts of awful things about them because of it. Especially precious when THESE folks imply WE have too much time on our hands eh? Pot calling the kettle black…. (and ghetto/trashy/poor).

    • nevertoomuchglitter says:

      Right on! The inferences would be funny if they weren’t so insulting. I’m just scared that people think like this! I know it’s just a small amount of folks who do, but I’m not going to let them rain on my glittery parade. 😀

  20. katherine says:

    just found your blog and I. AM. IN. LOVE. WITH. IT!! Keep it up and ignore those people, they don’t have a life. You know not everyone (that as awesome as you) can paint nails like you do, they just jealous. When people are jealous, they say mean things!!

  21. finch says:

    I find it interesting how people like my mother, who shuns makeup and nail polish as “frivolous” and “stupid” also prides herself on being a supposedly non-judgmental and open-minded love-everybody liberal. Hmmm. I find that often to be true, that the people championing the “don’t judge a book by it’s cover” cause are often the first ones who will judge you harshly if, heaven forbid, you are into “shallow” things like nails or cosmetics. Suddenly, you’re shallow, vapid, ignorant, and uneducated. Then of course we have people on the other side of the political spectrum equating decorated nails with being “ghetto” and uneducated and using racial slurs to boot.

    I’ll say this for nail art: it sure as hell helps to quickly identify those around you who are judgmental, narrow-minded morons. SMDH. Me and my trashy, ghetto, frivolous, uneducated, vapid, shallow, not-saving-the-world nails will be much happier without people like that in my life.

    • nevertoomuchglitter says:

      Yeah, nail art can quickly weed out the closeted (and not so closeted!) racist folks. I don’t know how nail art and lack of education got associated in their minds, but it seems pretty pervasive! Even tattoos don’t get quite that much hate. I’m going to keep rockin my tacky ghetto nails and I know a bunch of other folks are doing the same- keep on! 😀

  22. lauri says:

    first off – i love the blog – you got a follower lady 😉

    second………
    the type of ignorant people that truly believe their own comments from the article really need to get those big fat judgemental sticks that are currently wedged up their helicopter-parenting-pin-head-asses surgically removed., STAT. On a personal note., They can kiss my ass sideways – i’m still going to do what i do. i AM college educated thanks., i hold 2 degrees – 1 associates and 1 bachelors degree. i am self employed., run my business the RIGHT WAY., i always have, and always will, pay my own way – AND i do the right thing AND i do what i can to help other people., & GEE., yanno., i wonder if they can say the same. i SERIOUSLY DOUBT IT. Overspecialized corporate whores. They don’t give a rats ass about anyone but themselves, their bonuses and filling their pockets, but damn., they can sure as shit spin it in the media like they do…….can’t they…….. and guess what else., i DIDNT vote for OBAMA….in BOTH elections…….

    none of these morons will EVER dictate or remotely define my value as a person and a citizen….I DO.

    WHEW. rant over.

  23. Abby says:

    Hey there! So first off, just found your blog today and I am IN LOVE!! You are an awesome nail art artist and I’m digging the product reviews and links to other sites as well. I read the CNN article and was appalled by the comments as well! I work for a corporation and I have been told before to “tone down my outlandish nails” to which I just laughed because they were a plain dark purple…. Really? The way our society operates these days I think the least thing we need to be worried about it how someone paints or decorates their nails. How about we focus on something more productive than talking shit about people and calling them low class because they have talent and patience to want to do something other than one plain, pale color on their nails. Also, I’m not quite sure what Obama has to do with my nail choices but man, people sure do love to blame him for just about everything huh?! Well that’s it just thought it was pretty ridiculous and felt the need to give ya a shout out and say keep up the good work girl!! We’ll all still be following ya and those who were so trashy and low class can go ahead and F* right off!!!

  24. Kendra says:

    I hear you =) While long, bulky nails are not my thing, I know plenty of gals who have them and they look good on and don’t fit any of the wronchie stereotypes those buttmunchers were talking about. I myself do nail art, I paint special designs from tyedye to detailed landscape scenes. Heck, I have even seen MANY ladies with LONG nails as receptionists, because they allow the person to type better.

    • nevertoomuchglitter says:

      Yeah, I don’t really go long because I trash a manicure very quickly and can’t function well in them, but lots of people rock them! Keep doing your nail art and wear it proudly! 🙂

Leave a Reply

