Nail Polish with LA Girl Colorsurge Eyeshadow Palette

I’ve been meaning to show this for a while, but as usual, the time has gotten away from me! I’ve become more of a nail artist than a color-mixer, but I really enjoy both equally. Mixing the perfect shade of nail polish is very satisfying, but can be frustrating at times! I’ll always be a color junkie first and foremost, though.

I’ve frankened with a lot of pigments and nail polish and eyeshadows in my nail career, and here’s the latest mix-up! I used the LA Girl eyeshadow pallete in “Colorsurge” to make some nail polishes. This palette is focused on metallic pastels with a couple bright pops of color and silver, white and black.

Image

This palette was quite chalky and hard and the colors were a bit streaky. I have used LA Girl palettes to make nail polish before and they were a bit more silky, but this was was much more difficult to mix with. There was a lot of inconsistency in the eyeshadow textures between the two palettes.

Here’s what I got:

Image

As always, click to see the enlarged version.

You can see how much I had to gouge the polish- it was hard and chalky at the same time. The black mixed like a dream, but the rest were a struggle. I had high hopes for that gentian blue/periwinkle kind of shade, but it was not cooperative.

I mixed these with clear polish in a tiny silicone baking cup, as usual. Pictured is two coats of each polish and one coat of clear topcoat (Seche Vite.)

I think the lesson I learned from this was that textures and consistencies can vary widely across a brand, even in the same line of products! I probably would not recommend mixing nail polish from this palette unless you are experienced with color mixing and frankening, due to the tricky texture of this eyeshadow.

Other than that, I gave this a try as eyeshadow (shock!) It does fade fast, but the colors are pretty bright and they do stain. It’s a fun palette for a party look or costume, and it’s pretty cheap. If you’ll only use these shades once in a blue moon, it’s not a bad choice. Just pile on the eyeshadow primer so you don’t have chartruese lids the next day!

About nevertoomuchglitter

Nail artist. Wanderer. I'm a color-holic, in fact, it was my love of color that brought me to the nail art world. Well, that, and the fact I was too cheap to pay crazy Japanese prices for nail polish while living in Tokyo, so I had to start mixing my own. That's how NTMG began.
This entry was posted in Nail polish, Pastel and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

