Salad Days

I’ve been thinking about food lately…especially vegetables and salads. Here in Japan salads usually consist of a thick layer of shredded cabbage, topped with a few sad pieces of iceberg lettuce. Then again, eating vegetables raw is not really a part of the Japanese culinary tradition.

Before I get to the salad part, here’s the franken:

I used half OPI The “It” Color, a medium mustardy yellow creme, and half OPI Suzi Says Feng Shui, a dusty medium blue. (By the way, OPI was recently acquired by Coty, a cosmetics company which tests on animals. I’m using up the OPIs that are in my stash but will not be buying any more bottles.)

It made a pretty medium green that I really liked!

Actually, this color reminded me a LOT of OPI Jade is the New Black, which I do happen to own, so here it is on my index finger for comparison:

JITNB is a little bluer and closer to teal. Still, if you like those slightly muted creamy medium greens, a franken with The It Color and Suzy Says Feng Shui could be a nice alternative.

This color made me want leafy greens in the worst way, so I decided to make the nails into teeny tiny salads.

First, I dragged a barely wet brush loaded with sheer green polish across the nails in a random pattern, then I used a thin striping brush to draw random lines.

I also mixed up a bright orange Russian dressing color. It’s not my favorite, but I thought it would look good on the nails.

Then I added some little Fimo hardboiled eggs, peppers, olives, cucumbers, onions and tomatoes.

I had such a blast making these that I made a set for my Etsy store too! http://www.etsy.com/listing/65533905/japanese-nail-art-salad-days

About nevertoomuchglitter

Nail artist. Wanderer. I'm a color-holic, in fact, it was my love of color that brought me to the nail art world. Well, that, and the fact I was too cheap to pay crazy Japanese prices for nail polish while living in Tokyo, so I had to start mixing my own. That's how NTMG began.
This entry was posted in Greens, NTMG Original Nail Art and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Salad Days

  1. Jennifer says:

    omg – those are so cute! Wherever did you find salad fimo? The egg, the olive! And red onions, too! Just amazing!

    • nevertoomuchglitter says:

      Hi there! I’m glad you liked the mani! I got the fimo on Etsy, from an artist in England and a couple here locally. The teeny peppers are my favorite, though I hate them in real life.

  2. Scandalous says:

    Those salad nails are the cutest things I’ve ever seen! What did you use on them?

    • nevertoomuchglitter says:

      Hi there! Glad you liked them. The veggie bits are made of a clay called Fimo. The pre-made ones come in a long cane shape, and I use a very sharp razor to cut off slices, which is what you see on this manicure. Some examples are here:http://www.neoflexnailart.com/shop/index.php/canes.html

      It’s also pretty easy to make your own, but the clay must be baked and I don’t have an oven in Japan.

  3. Silva says:

    So utterly cute! It’s almost too cute 😉 I love the color too.

  4. Rebecca says:

    What a crazy, unique, delicious manicure!! I love it!!

  5. Lucy says:

    Tempted to take a nibble? Love this manicure. Now I want a salad.

  6. MK says:

    I don’t have the patience to do my nails like that but I thought yours was fantastic. I don’t even like salads but this made me a little hungry for one.

  7. amanda c. says:

    Everything about those nails is brilliant. The egg! And the bell-pepper! Hahaha. 😀

  8. Janna says:

    that looks like ChG Starboard from the Anchors Away collection =]

  9. Rabbit says:

    Your nails look delicious! Just want to eat them 🙂 I love fimo nail art. Its really cute 🙂

  10. saucerville says:

    What type of faux nails do you use? I am forever hunting for the ones on the strips but have no luck whatsoever!

    Those nails are to die for. I may have to snag them from your shop before someone else does!

    • nevertoomuchglitter says:

      Hi there! Glad you liked the salads! The faux nails I use in my shop are made in Japan- I have never seen them elsewhere. Maybe Ebay might sell them in bulk? I do sell plain ones in my shop that you can do your own DIY nail art on if you’re interested.

      • saucerville says:

        I checked out your etsy shop and am lusting over each and every design. I see you sell the blank nails. Do they all come in colors or do you sell unpolished ones?

        My handle on etsy is Saucerville. I’ll convo you!

  11. Pingback: Fashion Meets Food: Nail Art – Paste Magazine | HealtyQu

Leave a comment