Year of The Rabbit

Well, I’m getting over my jet lag slowly but surely and thinking a lot about what I want to do in 2011. Of course, that thinking led to a New Year’s themed mani. 2011 is a Rabbit year according to the Eastern calendar. The Chinese celebrate in the Lunar New Year, but in Japan, they combine the traditional Western New Year of Jan. 1 with the Eastern animal, so the Year of the Rabbit is considered to begin from Jan. 1.

I wanted a hopeful sort of color, so I mixed a base of half white and half clear polish and then added a pea-size scoop of TKB Trading Sparkle Turquoise pigment to get a sort of ghostly white with turquoise flash. I could have gotten a similar result if I’d just added the pigment to clear polish, but then extra pigment is necessary to avoid a streaky polish. The white polish in the mix gives a more opaque and even coating.

The rabbits are decals I got locally (yes, I totally cheated), but I hand-painted the teeny carrot.

Here’s the pigment I use. I like TKB Trading products, but the bag is not my favorite because the pigment flies everywhere when I pull open the (very strong) ziplock. But it’s handy for shipping and storage. When you use pigment, make sure it’s cosmetic-grade and NOT artist’s pigment. Artist’s pigments are very often poisonous and not meant to be used on the body.

The thumb says “Usagi” in Japanese, which means rabbit.

 

Oh, and take a look at what Santy Claus got me! He left it in my apartment while I was away:

A nail polish rack! Before, I was storing my polish in boxes in my bookshelf, but Santa got me this nifty piece of furniture. The front racks slide back and forth and there are racks behind them, all of which are totally filled with polish. I’m not sure whether to be proud or embarrassed that my polish collection now needs its own dedicated furniture. I also have a big rack with wicker baskets to hold my Konads, acrylics, pigments, and glitter as well as a workdesk which is perpetually covered in polish-related stuff.  Next place I get will have to have a dedicated polish room for sure!

About nevertoomuchglitter

Nail artist. Wanderer. I'm a color-holic, in fact, it was my love of color that brought me to the nail art world. Well, that, and the fact I was too cheap to pay crazy Japanese prices for nail polish while living in Tokyo, so I had to start mixing my own. That's how NTMG began.
This entry was posted in Non-Nail Stuff, NTMG Original Nail Art. Bookmark the permalink.

25 Responses to Year of The Rabbit

  1. Amanda says:

    Love the nail furniture! I’m going to need something like that soon… looks like you must have been good this year if Santa was so good to you 🙂

  2. OMG this shelf system is amazing!

  3. Michelle says:

    I’d love to order some of those pigments you use! What size bag are you holding in the picture, 1 ounce or sample size? Thanks! 🙂

    • nevertoomuchglitter says:

      Let me confirm for sure, but I’m 99% sure it’s the sample size. I ordered the huge sampler pack that they had about a year ago and have still not gotten through it all. A little goes a loooong way!

  4. Anita says:

    I love your bunnies and your shelf system is to die for, did Santa dearest by chance leave a clue as to what it’s called/where he got it?

  5. nevertoomuchglitter says:

    Hi Anita! I’m glad you liked the mani! As for the shelf, these are very popular here in Japan but I’m not sure where to find them outside the country. IKEA might be a good bet if there’s one around. I’ll update the post if I see anything similar available outside Japan.

  6. Lucy says:

    Love the manicure. Adorable for the Japanese New Year. Would be adorable for Easter also. That’s a tremendous shelf system. I think we all need a system like this. How will you move all of this when you do change your job? That will be a tough one.

    • nevertoomuchglitter says:

      Oh, Lucy, that’s the $64,000 question (wait, am I showing my age here?) I seriously don’t know how I’m going to move all this out..I guess I’ll just have to stay here until I use it all up!

  7. Ruthless says:

    That shelf beats my Helmer! Lucky girl!

    • nevertoomuchglitter says:

      IKEA is really expensive here in Japan- this thingamajig was half the price of a Helmer, according to Santa’s elves. I thought IKEA was kind of a cheaper brand but in Japan it’s premium price.

  8. mandaxleslie says:

    love the nail polish storage! you have a huge collection!

  9. Serikiyo says:

    Holy moley that’s a lot of nailpolish! O_O

    I really love that shelf though, I would love one for my room!

    • nevertoomuchglitter says:

      Yeah, I have no idea how I am going to get rid of all it…I’ve gone through a lot but I am well past the 1000 bottle mark. Yikes!

  10. Silva says:

    Wow, Santa was sweet 🙂
    Ooh, the manicure’s so pretty! It’s so cute!

  11. Arie says:

    I love your mani, my baby dogguie loves carrots ;).
    Yay your nail polish shelf is beautiful, and your nail polish collection looks great on it.
    I did mine yesterday from scratch, hubby and I transform an old book shelf ^_^.

    • nevertoomuchglitter says:

      Oh, that sounds cute! I’d love to see a picture of your puppy!
      How did your shelf come out? I hope making it didn’t drive you crazy!

  12. Paola says:

    Hi! your nails are adorable!!

    I’m loving your blog so much! I’m living in Tokyo too, and I also have a (recently acquired) interest in all things nails 🙂
    I just got a gel nail set from nailyasan for Christmas and I have been playing around with it, sadly with not too spectacular results (I swear I have two left hands!)

    Anyway, just stopping by to say hi!, love your blog, and lovely nail art/polish.
    So there 😛

    • nevertoomuchglitter says:

      Hi Paola! Glad to hear there’s some local folks too! Welcome to the blog and feel free to get in touch anytime. Good luck with the Nailyasan gel kit, I didn’t have great results with the included gel either- it’s hard to use. But the lamp has been very handy.

  13. amanda c. says:

    That is a BAMFing bit of storage. I have to admit I’m a bit jealous of all the awesome stored therein! 😀

    Also, that’s a great mani for the new year. I dig the carrot.

    • nevertoomuchglitter says:

      I’m not sure how all this awesome is going to be transported out of Japan but at least it’s all organized! Glad you liked the mani and Happy New Year!

Leave a Reply

