Lippmann Superstar Franken

This was a request from Brooke at Getcha Nails Did. Check her blog out if you get a moment- it’s cool and she has a really cute doggie!

But, anyway. Onto the franken du jour: Lippman Superstar. I checked out some color swatches online and it looks like a medium brown jelly with thick, dense, chunky copper glitter. Very festive and lots of fun, but it will dry gritty and needs a few layers of topcoat to smooth it out.

Here’s my franken. I used the chunkiest glitter I could find, but Superstar’s is larger. Oh, and I got horrible tip pull from my Seche. But I hope you can get the general idea.

img_0362img_0382img_0384img_03971


First, let’s mix up a medium slightly reddish brown jelly for the base. It has to be dark so the copper sparkles pop out. I mixed China Glaze Red Curl Girl, a medium red shimmer, and a green creme that I frankened from orange and yellow creme. My green was close to Nubar’s Green Tea, or maybe China Glaze Tree Hugger. You want a color like Kermit the Frog, not a dark forest green.

So, after mixing your red and green together, you should have a brown base. Shimmery is OK, but you want to keep it sort of jelly-like. Add about 10 drops of clear polish to the brown. Don’t use quick dry! The clear polish will make the brown color a little more jelly-ish and translucent. You can skip this step if you like, but the original polish looks like a jelly base to me. It shouldn’t make much of a difference. Save a little of the brown base because you will use it later.

Paint on a couple coats of the brown. You want to make sure you can’t see your nail lines, because this is a pretty opaque polish.

Here comes the fun part! Glitter bomb! Get some copper glitter at the craft store. Flat, chunky glitter will work best for this. The glitter in Superstar looks square to me, but square glitter is hard to find. Try to get a good quality glitter so the color won’t come off when it comes in contact with the polish.

Add a thimble-full or so of glitter to a clear topcoat. Try adding a bit of your coppery glitter topcoat to your brown jelly base polish. If your brown base was not too opaque, you can add the copper glitter mix directly to the brown base. However, if the base got too thick, or is opaque, the copper glitter will just get swallowed up. Boo hoo! If this is the case, just paint on the copper glitter topcoat over the base.

However, it’s the copper glitter swimming in the brown jelly base that makes this look unique, so try to combine the brown base and glitter.

Without a topcoat, this polish will be thick and gritty! I added two coats of Seche Vite to smooth it out because I prefer glossy, smooth nails rather than the semi-matte chunkies.

Hope you like this- not an exact franken due to a difference in the glitter, but I think it’s a fun festive copper. Oh, and it cost about 10 cents to make. Always good news for us gals on a budget! I’m still not sure what I’ll do with the leftover glitter, but it will go to good use somewhere.

About nevertoomuchglitter

Nail artist. Wanderer. I'm a color-holic, in fact, it was my love of color that brought me to the nail art world. Well, that, and the fact I was too cheap to pay crazy Japanese prices for nail polish while living in Tokyo, so I had to start mixing my own. That's how NTMG began.
This entry was posted in Famous Frankens, Nail polish and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Lippmann Superstar Franken

  1. WOW!! Ask and you shall recieve! I was very suprised to check out your blog this morning to see my request up so quick! I do agree, a diferent glitter and we have a match! You are so clever! I love this! Thank you!

  2. nevertoomuchglitter says:

    Glad you liked it! Once I saw the color, I wanted to wear it myself. I’ll be on the lookout for chunkier glitter. Well, I’m always on the lookout for glitter! I should have known the polish was too thick to put Seche on- I watched in horror as my nail polish shrunk back.

    I used this image for the franken
    http://nailgal.com/displayimage.php?album=search&cat=0&pos=6
    which I guess is from the Nailphile and took 4 coats to get glossy. The e-polish blog close up is awesome too- I wish I’d checked that one out to get the unpolished perspective.

    But for a dime, I hope this will give us some cheap holiday cheer! Happy Thanksgiving all!

  3. Thank you once again for doing this, I’m glad to hear that you were excited about it as well. Also, I don’t believe I know your first name, I didn’t have one to reference when I did my post on your franken, so I had to use alot of hers and she’s – lol. Mine is Brooke, obviously, would love to know yours for future ref.

    Have a happy thanksgiving!

  4. nevertoomuchglitter says:

    Haha! Sorry about that, my name is Jennifer. My boyfriend refers to me as “The Nail Polish Troll,” though. Sometimes our apartment does smell like a chemical factory, but so far no one’s called the Hazardous Material Squad. I’m half expecting for guys in white protective suits to raid my place.

  5. kml says:

    I work for Lippmann Collection and I just happened to run across your site and saw what you did with Superstar. I showed everyone and we love what you did with this color. Its been one of our favorites!

  6. nevertoomuchglitter says:

    Wow! I’m so glad you guys at Lippmann liked it! I’m even more glad that I didn’t get a cease-and-desist letter from a lawyer!

    Superstar has some amazing glitter in it that is hard to duplicate, but it was such a lovely color that I really wanted to try and make my own.

    I live in Tokyo and I’m not sure that Lippmann colors are widely available, but they all look gorgeous and all the nail bloggers agree that the polishes are unique and fantastic. When I’m back in the USA, I will surely pick up a couple! Thanks so much for reading!

  7. mephitine says:

    Sorry this post is 2 years after the original post date, but I just discovered your blog today–love it! Coincidentally I’m wearing Lippmann Superstar right now, and must admit–your franken looks better than the real deal. Superstar has a black jelly base and resembles China Glaze Fortune Teller more than anything else in my collection (just more brown, less orange, but still pretty coppery). Your color reminds me of the finish on an electric guitar that I saw recently. That color was called Root Beer Sparkle and it was breathtaking. I wanted a photo of it so I could try to figure out how to dupe it into a nail polish. Looks like you’ve already beat me to it!

Leave a comment