Colonial Blue

Hello all! I hope you had a nice Thanksgiving.

Today I decided on a dusty light-medium blue with a gray base.

img_0420img_0407

img_01121

This blue is really easy to make! Make gray with white creme and black creme. You want a fairly light gray, like a raincloud or mold. Add medium blue creme  drop by drop to the gray until you get a color you like and you’re all set!

But wait! There’s more!

I busted out the Konad:

img_0425img_0423

And finally, on my left hand, I added a single coat of Orly Rock Candy. This is a blue iridescent flash. It’s translucent enough so you can still enjoy the color underneath, but adds a nice dimension. Sometimes I just add a iridescent topcoat if I want to change my color without taking off all the polish and starting again. Some other iridescent polishes are OPI Fireflies (green) and China Glaze or Color Club Rainbow (purple). These colors appear milky and not very interesting alone, but over darker colors, they are fantastic.

Here is Orly Rock Candy on top of my Colonial Blue:

img_0439img_0435

About nevertoomuchglitter

Nail artist. Wanderer. I'm a color-holic, in fact, it was my love of color that brought me to the nail art world. Well, that, and the fact I was too cheap to pay crazy Japanese prices for nail polish while living in Tokyo, so I had to start mixing my own. That's how NTMG began.
This entry was posted in Blues, Gray Base, Konad, Nail polish and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Colonial Blue

  1. Wow, that top coat really changed how the color looks. That’s a cool idea, I never knew that it would change the color so much, I will have to try that out sometime.

Leave a Reply

