Glittering Asphalt

This is the black holo I’ve been wanting. I am sure some company out there makes a black holo, but I haven’t seen anything like it in Japan. I saw the new Dior, which is black with gunmetal gray sparkle (?), but it’s not the glittery joy I want. Also, it’s around $40 a bottle here. Ouch!

This is not a mix-em-up franken, it’s a layer franken. One layer of blue holo + coffee brown holo= black holo! The three pictures below just show each respective color, not the finished product.

First, a coat of OPI Designer Series Fantasy, a deep royal blue holo.

img_0318

Second, a coat of OPI My Private Jet, a slighly warm-toned medium cocoa brown holo.

img_01431

img_0152

So, with a coat of DS Fantasy followed by a coat of My Private Jet, you get jet black super sparkle holo below!

img_0329

img_0335

About nevertoomuchglitter

Nail artist. Wanderer. I'm a color-holic, in fact, it was my love of color that brought me to the nail art world. Well, that, and the fact I was too cheap to pay crazy Japanese prices for nail polish while living in Tokyo, so I had to start mixing my own. That's how NTMG began.
This entry was posted in Darks, Nail polish and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Glittering Asphalt

  1. That looks very sparkly, I like it! I don’t have either of those colors though, so i can’t try that one out for myself!

  2. Atomica says:

    Cool! I’m going to try that sometime. Please keep posting these kind of layering tips because I’m sure a lot of other readers also find it very useful.

    Just discovered your blog today. I’m loving what I see! 🙂

  3. I have a request for you on one to try and franken. It is Lippmann’s Superstar. Think it’s possible?

  4. nevertoomuchglitter says:

    One Lippmann Superstar coming up! It’s the copper shimmer base with copper glitter if I’m not mistaken, right? I’ve never seen it but I’m already thinking up my franken recipe.

    And Atomica- welcome to my blog! I’m actually going to be doing a layer tutorial soon talking about duochromes, iridescents, etc.

  5. nevertoomuchglitter says:

    Oh- whoops! I forgot to mention!
    You can franken OPI DS Fantasy out of Orly Star of Bombay (deep navy blue creme) plus one of the many China Glaze jholos out there, such as Visit Me in Prizm, GR8, Sexagon. It won’t be an exact match, but you’ll get a navy blue holo.

    The My Private Jet is a little trickier, but the same theory: I’d try a medium red- any one on the market will do, plus a medium green. Or you can mix blue and orange to get brown. Actually, any two colors which are opposite on a color wheel will make brown. But I recommend red + green or blue + orange because it makes a good medium brown. Once you’ve got brown, add the same holo sparkle. But it’s hard to make a good holo brown, and My Private Jet is a nice color, so I’d say pick it up if you get a chance. The blue portion will be much easier to franken.

    Can you tell I’m a color nerd?

  6. Jamie says:

    That is simply gorgeous. I just found my way here, checking out more nail art for ideas. Great blog – I’ll be back! 🙂

  7. Mariko says:

    wow I will try that! You inspired me to buy those colors. I am loving your site! You are so creative! How did you learn all this?? Btw, I see you live in Japan. I am Japanese too woo~ hehe

    • nevertoomuchglitter says:

      Hi Mariko! I guessed you were Japanese from your name! Nevertoomuchglitter へ ようこそ!
      I am a part-time artist, so that’s how I started mixing colors and nail polish in Japan is sooo expensive. So that’s why I started mixing colors.
      よろしくね!

  8. Mariko says:

    Oh I see! You are surely a color magician! so cool.:D
    I know! nail polishes are so expensive here! and there aren’t many colors that interest me. OPI’s are like 1800 yen and I realised recently that you could get it under $5 from American online stores. I felt stupid lol
    Anyway, I just started really getting into nails and I didn’t know about franken so I will be visiting here regulary and learning from your site<3
    こちらこそよろしくね<3 

Leave a Reply

