Autumnal Stripes

This is for all of you who don’t like adorable nail art but still want to be seasonal. It’s a mix of red, pumpkin orange, rich yellow and green. Very autumnal but modern and chic.

img_0138

img_0143

First, paint the base color- a pumpkin-soup yellow orange.  I used Color Club Explosive, a really intense orange/yellow neon. The best way to describe it is nuclear pumpkin soup.  Then I mixed in some old Sally Hansen silver foil. Any metallic silver with a hint of shimmer/glitter will do. I mixed these together because the Explosive was just too much by itself and would overpower the stripes. You can franken the Color Club orange, but you need red + yellow neon to do it.

img_0159

I used 75% Color Club and 25% Sally Hansen. Just enough for a hint of shimmer and to tone down the brightness of the orange.

I then added the red stripes, 3 per nail, using dollar store creme red with an extremely fine brush. Get a striping brush or a little paintbrush at the craft shop.

Then, I made the orange stripes on each nail. Just red creme and yellow creme to make orange. I used a slightly wider brush for this. Make the thickness of the stripes different so your nails don’t look like candy canes (at least not yet!)

Last, the green. Yellow and blue creme. You want it to be a little translucent so the surface of the glitter base polish shows. Solid green could clash with the orange, so just one stripe of translucent green ought to do it.

I put Seche Vite on as a topocoat. This needs some gloss on top to really look spectacular.

About nevertoomuchglitter

Nail artist. Wanderer. I'm a color-holic, in fact, it was my love of color that brought me to the nail art world. Well, that, and the fact I was too cheap to pay crazy Japanese prices for nail polish while living in Tokyo, so I had to start mixing my own. That's how NTMG began.
This entry was posted in Brights, Holiday Nails, Nail polish, NTMG Original Nail Art, Oranges, Yellows and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Autumnal Stripes

  1. I can’t tell you how much I love this! The colors together look so great! Once again – another masterpiece! 🙂

  2. nevertoomuchglitter says:

    Thank you so much for linking me and for all your positive comments :)!

    I’m also dreaming up some Christmas stuff but I’m not really in the spirit yet because it’s about 60 degrees here. But I promise I’ll have some fun stuff. As always, I’m taking suggestions and requests.

  3. Your nail art is super impressive! Nice job! (found you from Brooke’s site)

  4. nevertoomuchglitter says:

    I’m glad you like it! I’ll be sure to check out your blog too!
    I’ll be trying to link to some blogs, but I’m hopeless with this stuff and hope I can figure out how to do it.

  5. Pingback: 10 Easy DIY Thanksgiving Nail Design Ideas with Tutorials 2012 | CocoaLaFemme

  6. Cathy Boardman says:

    Hi Jen, how much would a replica of these nails cost me? I love them!!

  7. Christine Chipman says:

    What do you mean when you say “franken the Color Club orange”, please? I haven’t heard the word “franken” before.

    • nevertoomuchglitter says:

      Sorry about that..there’s a post from way back that explains frankening! It’s just short for “Frankenpolish,” ie a polish mixed up from many other nail polishes or colored pigments. Basically a custom-blended nail polish color when existing shades just aren’t exactly the right fit. 🙂

  8. Christine Chipman says:

    I forgot to say how much I love the design and especially the colors. I’m definitely going to have to try something like this soon, particularly as I’ve just bought a really bright orange neon OPI polish, not realising it was so bright because the color in the picture wasn’t anything like the polish. Now I have a design to use it on. You have beautiful nails, too. If you check out my blog you’ll discover that I haven’t, and why, but I’m getting there. I’ve just finished this weeks nail art and will be posting it on my blog tomorrow. Thanks for sharing and providing inspiration for newbies to nail art like me.

    • nevertoomuchglitter says:

      Thanks for your comment! I hate it when the photos look nothing like the real thing…but glad you’ve found a use for yours!

  9. Pingback: 21 Nette Danksagungs-Nagel-Designs sollten Sie auf jeden Fall sehen - Haare and Frisuren

  10. Pingback: 10 Thanksgiving Nail Art Ideas | The Laser Lounge Blog

  11. Pingback: 25 Thanksgiving Day Nail Arts for Girls – Rommoda Fashion Store

  12. Pingback: 25 Thanksgiving Day Nail Arts for Girls | ROMMODA FASHION STORE

Leave a comment