Silver Sea Glass/ Blue Sea Glass


Two colors today! I was trying to franken a metallic white shade with microglitter flecks. Unfortunately, the microglitter, which was not in a polish base (just dry, loose glitter) did not make friends with the metallic pearl. Instead of glorious twinkling polish, I got gritty metallic silver pearl.

But I’m not one to give up! I painted it on, and of course the finish was rough and fairly matte. I added a couple clear coats with my Seche Vite, and the effect was pretty cool. It looked like that frosted glass with air bubbles in it. The finish was totally smooth, with the odd texture encapsulated underneath. It looked sort of like a paperweight.

img_0094img_0095

Despite the appearance in the photos, the finish is totally smooth.

Pearl shimmer + white creme + loose glitter. And a good solid topcoat.

Then I started thinking about blue sea-glass and paperweights, so I added a transparent medium blue:

img_0112img_01131

An interesting experiment, though I’m not sure I’d do that again. Glitter polishes are great, but sometimes they need quite a few layers of topcoat before they’re ready to go. Beware of the chunky glitter matte finish, unless you are patient. The stucco/glassy finish was cool for a day, though.

About nevertoomuchglitter

Nail artist. Wanderer. I'm a color-holic, in fact, it was my love of color that brought me to the nail art world. Well, that, and the fact I was too cheap to pay crazy Japanese prices for nail polish while living in Tokyo, so I had to start mixing my own. That's how NTMG began.
This entry was posted in Blues, Brights, Nail polish and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Silver Sea Glass/ Blue Sea Glass

  1. When making a franken polish, can you just add glitter (like at an art supply store type glitter to it, or do you have to use a polish that already has glitter in it?

  2. nevertoomuchglitter says:

    It really depends on the polish and glitter. I do often use loose glitter from the craft store. But some glitters, especially the cheaper ones, will turn silver as they interact with nail polish. I had some gorgeous navy blue glitter that lost all its color and turned whitish when it was in the mix.

    But, I’ve done lots of frankens with loose glitter and had great results. Generally, adding the glitter to clear polish and using as a topcoat works the best. You can also mix the glitter directly into a color if the color is sheer enough. (Unlike my franken above, the base color was too opaque, so the glitter got coated by the base color and made the chunky finish.) But experiment with different glitters and topcoats. I had great luck with cheapies as well as “designer glitter.” The smaller the glitter, the easier it is to work with.

Leave a Reply

