Nuclear Waste Green

Well, I was trying to franken China Glaze Moonpool, which is a fabulous lit-from-within green. The Nailphile blog (sorry, don’t have the address handy but just do a search) had some wonderful Moonpool photos on it recently. Normally, China Glaze is very affordable, but Moonpool is a hard-to-find shade which is either impossible to find or scalped on eBay. After some nasty experiences there, I tend to avoid it as much as possible.

Anyway, this polish reminds me of comic book characters or glowing nuclear waste, hence the name of my franken. It’s not really close to Moonpool at all, but it does fulfill my desire for a bright chemical green shimmer polish.

img_9913

img_99191

This is made from OPI Lemonade Stand By Your Man, a medium yellow shimmer, plus some medium blue creme from the Japanese dollar store. I’d guess OPI Dating A Royal would be a similar shade. Drop the blue into the yellow drop by drop. Then, when the color turns to green, add some green neon. I used China Glaze In The Lime Light, but any neon will do. If it gets too bright, just add some yellow shimmer to bring it back to a more neutral green. Watch out for the neon polish- it can alter the color dramatically. It’s like the dynamite of the nailpolish world. But you can make colors with neons that are impossible to create otherwise, so it’s good to understand how they affect a color mix.

As far as color accuracy, I couldn’t match that lit-from-within green of Moonpool. I’m suspecting there’s some kind of light reflecting shimmer in the polish which I don’t have (yet). If anyone has a good swatch of Moonpool that they’re willing to send my way, let me know and I’ll show a side-by-side.

About nevertoomuchglitter

Nail artist. Wanderer. I'm a color-holic, in fact, it was my love of color that brought me to the nail art world. Well, that, and the fact I was too cheap to pay crazy Japanese prices for nail polish while living in Tokyo, so I had to start mixing my own. That's how NTMG began.
This entry was posted in Brights, Famous Frankens, Greens, Nail polish and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Nuclear Waste Green

  1. I actually have moonpool, and just used it the other day. I had no idea that it was a hard to find color. I really don’t like the color at all and I know the only reason I got it was because it was on clearance. I noticed the other day when I went to use it, that the brush was really funky. I wonder if that is because the color is so old. I wish there was an easy way to ship to you, I would send it to you!

  2. FYI – I just got done checking The Nailphile blog and I noticed that she is having a contest for free bottle of Moonpool, and she is rooting for her international readers to enter and win!

  3. Marsha says:

    I admit I am new to this habit, and do not yet have the Nail Board eye, but your effort looks pretty good!
    Brookebaby – if you don’t want that bottle of Moonpool, just take it to the post office, and tell them you want to ship it, and they will take care of it. Ship it to me, postage due! or I will send you the money.

  4. Pingback: China Glaze Moonpool « Nevertoomuchglitter’s Weblog

Leave a Reply

