Snowflake Nail Art Tutorial

Hello everyone! I’ve gotten some requests for some snowflake nail art.

First up, let me show you a nice blue franken which goes nicely with a snowy nail art theme.

Oops, I forgot to show you the base color without the snowflakes on it! Must be too many paint fumes in here.  The color on the ring finger is OPI* Dating A Royal, which is a nice deep periwinkle jelly, but it gives the dreaded visible nail line (VNL) even after 3 coats.

So I mixed in some MAC Reflects Teal Glitter.

It yielded a nice blue with a teal shimmer that did not have the VNL problems of the original. Shown is two coats.

This design is really easy to do, all you need is some black, orange and white polish or acrylic paint, a fine tip brush (el cheapo ones are OK!) and a dotting tool. I did some dots on the index finger, then two easy snowflakes, then a cute little snowman. The snowman is just made of 3 circles, some black dots for the buttons, smile and eyes. The nose is just an orange dot. I made the hat and arms with black polish and just used my dotting tool to lay out the shape I wanted.

The snowflake is really pretty easy to do, I’ve laid it out here. Click for a bigger version.

I used acrylic paint on this, but stark white nail polish works just as well. Just use a cheap brush and clean it afterwards with a brush cleaner, or get a nail polish with a fine brush designed for nail art. I have also been working with Orly’s Instant Artist nail art polish , which is pretty good so far.

And if you really want to  get crazy with it, make some sweater nails:

The second nail from the left is a MOOSE, not a reindeer.  Moose never gets any love on those Nordic sweaters, so I thought it was time he got his due. He’s tired of playing second fiddle to the reindeer.

This Nordic design has been floating around in Japan, so I thought I’d give it a try. These took quite a while to make- I think I’d wear one or two sweater nails and the rest a solid color just to cut down on the painting time! But it’s a fun wintry look.

And, as an animal lover, I have to put out the  usual disclaimer for those of you who may just be joining us:

*OPI was cruelty-free when they were an independent company but they were acquired by Coty LLC last year. They do maintain that the OPI brand remains cruelty-free, but their parent company, Coty, is not cruelty-free and does conduct animal testing.  I’m avoiding Coty products even if this particular brand in their portfolio is cruelty free., especially since there are so many vegan AND truly cruelty-free options available. This product is from the old OPI.

About nevertoomuchglitter

Nail artist. Wanderer. I'm a color-holic, in fact, it was my love of color that brought me to the nail art world. Well, that, and the fact I was too cheap to pay crazy Japanese prices for nail polish while living in Tokyo, so I had to start mixing my own. That's how NTMG began.
This entry was posted in Blues, Holiday Nails, NTMG Original Nail Art, Tutorials and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to Snowflake Nail Art Tutorial

  1. Anita says:

    This is a great idea, and as a knitter too I absolutely adore the sweater nails! Too cute!

  2. Kayleigh says:

    Love it! I tried out some of the fair isle/Nordic designs and I love them too.. I’m gonna try them on a false nail set for myself since my own nails are too short. 🙂

    • nevertoomuchglitter says:

      I’m still tweaking some designs too- I’m experimenting with some sweater nails with the little ‘buttons’ by using silver studs, but so far I haven’t got quite what I’m looking for.

      This is definitely a good design to do on false nails- it is dang tricky to do it on yourself without making a mess. Have fun and feel free to send us a picture if it goes well!

  3. Lucy says:

    Your so amazingly talented! Love all of the designs. The snowflakes look easy enough to do. The Nordic designs there’s no way I can do them. Beautiful!!!

    • nevertoomuchglitter says:

      Aww, thank you Lucy. It just takes a LOT of practice and a fair bit of patience. But festive nails don’t have to be too complicated- it’s all about whatever gets you in the holiday spirit!

  4. Your christmas jumper nails are ADORABLE! I’m so doing those on my nails for christmas day! xoxo

  5. wazzra says:

    The sweater nails are just purely amazing!

  6. Libby says:

    I really love the Nordic print nails…. they’re very cute and perfect for winter! And the polka dot – cute classic! 🙂

  7. Pingback: Inspiration: Holiday Nails « Hazel & Agnes

  8. Pingback: Glam Republic's "Nailed It" Christmas Nail Art Edition | Glam Republic Beauty

  9. Pingback: Holiday Nail Art « Slice of Sparkle

  10. Pingback: girlshue - Easy Winter Snowflake Nail Art Ideas & Designs 2012/2013 For Girls

  11. Pingback: 6 Holiday Nail Art Ideas |

  12. Pingback: Top 10 Winter Nail Tutorials - Top Inspired

  13. Pingback: Holiday 2013 Nail Art | Nevertoomuchglitter's Weblog

  14. Pingback: Easy Winter Snowflake Nail Art Ideas & Designs 2012/2013 For Girls | Girlshue

  15. Pingback: Inspiration DIY Winter Nail Art

  16. Pingback: 2015-2016年冬ネイル 雪の結晶の描き方色々 | ネイルリスト〜最新ネイル・人気のネイルデザイン画像まとめ〜

Leave a comment