Mix Your Own Metallic Nail Polish

Today I have some fun and easy frankens to show you, made by mixing 1/2 color polish with 1/2 metallic polish for a metallic look in a variety of shades.

Here’s what I used:

Orly Luxe is a champagne gold metallic that I don’t often wear on its own, since it clashes with my skintone, but it can be mixed in with a variety of other shades to make new colors.

I use half metalllic and half color polish for the metallic mixes. I find this makes the best in-between color.

 

My favorite was the blue Splish Splash/Luxe combination, since it looked like denim.

Metallics mix well with most colors, but not so well with very sheer or opaque shades. Shoot for somewhere in the middle range of opacity. Very sheer shades won’t really tint the metallic color well, and very opaque shades can overwhelm it.  But most of all, experiment and have fun!

 

About nevertoomuchglitter

Nail artist. Wanderer. I'm a color-holic, in fact, it was my love of color that brought me to the nail art world. Well, that, and the fact I was too cheap to pay crazy Japanese prices for nail polish while living in Tokyo, so I had to start mixing my own. That's how NTMG began.
This entry was posted in Mixed Colors (Frankens) and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Mix Your Own Metallic Nail Polish

  1. nirfreak03 says:

    awesome idea 🙂 i’ll have to play with different combinations with all my extra duplicate metallics

  2. Angie says:

    Love this idea!! Can’t wait to try it out!!

  3. Pingback: Mix Your Own Metallic Nail Polish · Bath and Body | CraftGossip.com

Leave a comment