Some Textured Autumn Nail Looks

::cough cough:: I’m on the mend from what feels like the plague. Luckily I came down with this infernal bug after I had my manicure exam, which I think went well, but won’t know the results for a month. I sound like Donald Duck and I’m really congested, but at least no more fever. The air quality here recently has been pretty awful- it was so hazy it was like walking through smoke.

All that aside, it is September, and that means it’s time to start rolling out some fall nail looks! It’s my favorite season, but unfortunately Singapore is seasonless, so I’ll just have to paint tiny argyle sweaters on my nails, since I definitely can’t wear them! (Though, oddly enough, there are “fall sales” and some shops are selling sweaters. Perhaps for trips abroad?)

Here’s three easy looks that are fun to do for an accent nail, or even on all 10. The plaids are a bit tricky on non-dominant hands, at least for me, but they look great if you just do one nail and paint the others in a coordinating shade.

The nail on the left is a sort of European heavy tweed, the middle is a old-fashioned corncob tweed, and then some plaid.

For the European tweed, the trick is a striping brush (long and thin). Paint the nail base in any color you like- I used nude, and then dip the length of the brush in nail polish or acrylic paint. I used acrylic paint.  Do a bunch of random vertical and horizontal lines and don’t be afraid to let the lines touch- that’s what gives the blended effect. You will need to seal it with a good topcoat like Poshe or Seche Vite.

The corncob tweed is the same process, just add little cross-hatched “x” shapes here and there to simulate texture. I added a French tip to give it a little refinement and added some little gold studs for extra jazz.

The plaid is just straight lines in various thicknesses. This is a bit more difficult than the other two since a fairly steady hand is required. A striping brush makes it a lot easier- just clean up any paint that may get on your cuticles and lay it down slowly on the nail. And if you go a bit crooked on any of the lines, add a little gold stud or a rhinestone to cover it up!

Hope all you folks who went back to school are enjoying it, or at least not getting atomic wedgies every day in the locker room!

About nevertoomuchglitter

Nail artist. Wanderer. I'm a color-holic, in fact, it was my love of color that brought me to the nail art world. Well, that, and the fact I was too cheap to pay crazy Japanese prices for nail polish while living in Tokyo, so I had to start mixing my own. That's how NTMG began.
This entry was posted in NTMG Original Nail Art and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

