Charcoal Polka Dots

I have no idea what prompted me to buy black, glittering eyeshadow. It looks like a glittering bruise, but it’s really sparkly. Also, pretty cheap.  It’s been sitting around in my “party makeup” bag- you know, for all those glamorous soirees I go to weekly.  Since it would never do its duty as eyeshadow, I decided I’d give it new life as nail polish.

IMG_6364

Milani Runway Eyes Single eyeshadow (sorry, label showing the color is long gone)

Here’s what it made mixed in with some clear nail polish:

IMG_6366

It was a very smooth glittering almost-black charcoal with silver shimmer. I was surprised how smooth it was, actually. It was nice, but I never leave a mani alone! I added a glittery bow, a pearl, and some white and pink dots with my dotting tool.

IMG_6376

IMG_6370

About nevertoomuchglitter

Nail artist. Wanderer. I'm a color-holic, in fact, it was my love of color that brought me to the nail art world. Well, that, and the fact I was too cheap to pay crazy Japanese prices for nail polish while living in Tokyo, so I had to start mixing my own. That's how NTMG began.
This entry was posted in Darks, Nail polish, NTMG Original Nail Art and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Charcoal Polka Dots

  1. This is really cute! The pigment made a really nice colour and then the nail art just makes it look even better! Need to start using my dotting tool…

  2. Kae says:

    Super cute, love the bow and dots.

  3. Lucy says:

    Jen you always design the most adorable manicures. I love it. The polish turned out really nice. I almost bought something like that also. I don’t know where I was going to wear sparkly black either. Jen you are also funny and thanks for the continuing beautiful colors and manicures.

  4. tartofraises says:

    beautiful nail-art !!!

  5. emily says:

    i’ve never tried the whole mixing-eyeshadow-with-clear-nailpolish thing, but it seemed to turn out really well for you! and the dots are too adorable.

Leave a comment