Japanese Nail Art 5

Since everyone loves Japanese nail art, or at least likes to look, here’s some more pictures I found recently. I got some questions about nail art in Japan, such as cost, etc. I don’t know too much about it but it generally runs $65 US to $125 US, according to the magazines. Of course lots of jewels, art and the like will be more expensive. You can also order custom pre-made tips if you prefer that. Funky nail tips can also be bought in a drugstore for around $20-40, depending on the design. I have seen some amazingly hideous ones.

I went to a nail salon in Tokyo once, when I had really long natural nails  and I broke the pinkie. I didn’t want to chop them all off, so I asked for an acrylic fill-in. It was an expensive salon (one nail cost $20), but they didn’t sterilize the tools (I found this out on my way out when they just re-used my file on another customer!) Yeech!

Anyway, onto the photos!

after-nail-1

These are different- maybe good for ladies who like Science Fiction? After Nail Salon, Tokyo.

after-nail-2

Usually, fake toenails sort of give me the creeps, but I like these. After Nail Salon, Tokyo.

ange-2

Wow, words fail me here. Stars, smiley faces, guitars, drumsets…

ange-3

Flames? Horns? Looks pretty tough, though I think I prefer the nails plain.

ange-7

Finally, someone gets vegetable nails- though fruit seems a lot more popular. Note the corn even has hairy tassels on it.

ange-8

A fun sort of psychadelic design. For images above from Ange Nails, Tokyo.

salon-rie-1

Just because you’re an adult doesn’t mean the Care Bears are off-limits! Salon Rie, Tokyo.

dear-4

These remind me of fish eggs for some reason. Dear Nail Salon, Tokyo.

dear-3

Wow! Dangly bits, pearls, rhinestones and hearts? Dear Nail Salon, Tokyo.

scarlet-nails-1

And when all else fails, just cover your entire nail in rhinestones. Scarlet Nails, Tokyo.

About nevertoomuchglitter

Nail artist. Wanderer. I'm a color-holic, in fact, it was my love of color that brought me to the nail art world. Well, that, and the fact I was too cheap to pay crazy Japanese prices for nail polish while living in Tokyo, so I had to start mixing my own. That's how NTMG began.
This entry was posted in Japanese Nail Art and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Japanese Nail Art 5

  1. Nixxy says:

    OW! I think my retinas just shattered! Craaaazy! 🙂

  2. There is something so cute about those carebear nails! I don’t know what it is, but I just think those are the cutest! lol

    I also like the toe nail design too.

  3. Jamie says:

    I adore nail art, but I seriously wonder how anyone could function with some of those elaborate designs. Wouldn’t they get caught on…well….everything??? Wow.

    I do agree though – the Carebears are adorable..a painted design would be more practical. Those toes are great – clown toes! I kind of like the sci-fi ones too…

  4. Lucy says:

    I love looking at nail art. Those toe nails are my favorites. Fake toe nails and long toe nails really freak me out. I once saw a woman with toe nails really long and painted and I about threw up! How does anyone even lift up their hands with all that decoration on them? I also love the psychedelic nails.

  5. PBG says:

    Pretty colors and very creative. I know the actual work of it all must be excruciatingly detail-oriented, but I could never wear any of them. Waaay too over the top! It’s great art, though. 🙂

  6. Areli says:

    wow those are super funky and beautiful!

  7. glamamara says:

    I visited Japan a few years ago and was blown away by the creative nail decoration. great post

  8. Nice Pictures,.. very high quality too. Here are some more:
    nail art pictures

  9. Sonja says:

    Hello,
    I’m from Germany. I have a shop for Naildesign products. Japan Nailart is so beautyful !!! Sorryly in the moment the german nailtechnicans don’t do the nailart like in Japan. I hope this will change .
    Your work is artwork !
    Regards

    Sonja

  10. Hello,

    It’s beautiful ! Congratulations !

  11. Nail-O says:

    Hello,

    that’s great work! extraordinary nailart!

Leave a comment