RBL Concrete Jungle Franken

I got a request to franken Rescue Beauty Lounge Concrete Jungle, a cool gray creme. Nice color, something a little different for sure.

RBL seems to be a nice high-quality brand with some funky colors. But it’s pricey at $18 a bottle and for gray creme, that’s doubly outrageous. I checked some swatches of this at Polish Addict and All Lacquered Up.

It looks bluish in some photos and it’s a cool gray, so I know there’s blue in the base. For quick ‘n’ easy franken sake, I used some easily findable polishes that actually have names rather than my usual dolla-store specials.

Before I go into the details, here’s the franken. Like the original, it looks more bluish in some light than others. Sorry about the cuticles. This was two coats, three would have been perfect, but I ran out of frankenpolish.

img_2475

img_2480

Bright natural light.

This was made with China Glaze Whiteout, an opaque white creme, China Glaze Agent Periwinkle, a periwinkle creme, and creme black from the dolla store. All polishes should be creme, as the original is creme.

img_2491

First, make a very light blue with 10 drops Whiteout and 2-3 drops Agent P. From there, add one drop of black at a time to get the bluish gray. I used two small drops of black.

Easy, quick and probably costs less than a nickel! It is a little streaky, as a lot of grays are, but two coats was pretty opaque. Three would be perfect, I think. I just make enough for one manicure, so feel free to double or triple the amounts above.

img_2477

About nevertoomuchglitter

Nail artist. Wanderer. I'm a color-holic, in fact, it was my love of color that brought me to the nail art world. Well, that, and the fact I was too cheap to pay crazy Japanese prices for nail polish while living in Tokyo, so I had to start mixing my own. That's how NTMG began.
This entry was posted in Famous Frankens, Gray Base, Nail polish and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to RBL Concrete Jungle Franken

  1. Elisa says:

    WOW! Thank you so much! I can’t wait to start on this! I’m afraid that I don’t have periwinkle though :\ What colors can I mix to get periwinkle? Hopefully it’s possible… 🙂

    Thanks for this, you’ve just saved me tons of money and fretting over spending THAT much on a bottle of nail polish 😛

  2. nevertoomuchglitter says:

    Hi Elisa,
    My pleasure! If you can’t get China Glaze Agent Periwinkle, which costs around $2.75, try a light blue creme and add one drop of black to it. You need some light blue to make the color, so you can add white to dark blue to get a pale blue and then add that to white. I do think the Agent Periwinkle is a color worth getting because it can be worked into a lot of frankens. Let me know how it goes!

  3. nevertoomuchglitter says:

    Elisa-
    Sorry, I forgot to tell you how to make periwinkle.
    Medium creme red 1 drop, light/medium creme blue three drops, and about 15 drops white. It’s lavender with a tiny bit of blue in it. But you could wind up wasting a lot of polish getting the periwinkle just right.

  4. Lucy says:

    Fantastic job! Concrete is one of three Rescue Beauty Lounge polishes I have. I also have No More War and Teal. I like the Sponge Bob polishes also. You are a genius at this mixing of colors. Are you also an artist? You have a great eye for mixing colors.

  5. nevertoomuchglitter says:

    Hey Lucy, Thanks for the comment. I’m an artist and color obsessee, so that’s probably why I like mixing polishes so much. Is this close to the Concrete Jungle? I had to go by swatches as I’ve never seen the real thing in person, but this was as close as I could get. Hopefully it’s at least got the same vibe as the original.

  6. Steph says:

    Wow i really love the color you made, i’ve wanted a color like that and found rbl concrete jungle but i wasnt prepared to buy it for $18…but wow i really like wht you’ve done…but when i try to mix my colors it didnt work for me..and then it dries up before i can get it on my nail..help?

Leave a comment