Corn Nail Art

Well, with Thanksgiving coming up, here’s some corn that I made. Normally, this would be a little too “yee haw” for me, but I kind of like it.  As with Frankenstein, these are painted tips because I just can’t do this on myself. This is also my 50th post!

Another fun variation might be to paint each nail a different color, like Indian corn. I love the dusty blue of Indian corn…a franken inspiration? We’ll see.

img_0074

img_0021img_0023

But the best is definitely the thumbs. I used rhinestones for the corn kernels. The left thumb is a piece of Indian corn, and the right thumb is ultra-sparkly regular corn. Unfortunately, the rhinestones did not photograph too well at night. Tomorrow is supposed to be cloudy too.

img_0033img_0051img_0047

The yellow is straight-up OPI Need Sunglasses? and the green for the cornhusks is a franken of blue creme and the yellow OPI. I then added a couple drops of navy blue to that to make the dark area on the cornhusks.

For the one-dimensional corn nails on my index finger and middle finger, I added some creme white to Need Sunglasses? and dotted it on as corn kernels. Paint the whole nail yellow, then paint on the cornhusks. Then, add the green stripes along the husks to add some definition. Last, paint the lighter yellow dots in the center or add yellow rhinestones like I did on the thumb.

For the Indian corn thumb, out came the Sharpie marker. I drew the kernels on and then filled in with different colors. I added some brown and yellow rhinestones too.

img_0072

Special thanks to my sweet guy for picking up the rhinestones and also for pretending he can’t smell the nail polish fumes.

About nevertoomuchglitter

Nail artist. Wanderer. I'm a color-holic, in fact, it was my love of color that brought me to the nail art world. Well, that, and the fact I was too cheap to pay crazy Japanese prices for nail polish while living in Tokyo, so I had to start mixing my own. That's how NTMG began.
This entry was posted in Brights, Holiday Nails, Nail polish, NTMG Original Nail Art and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Corn Nail Art

  1. shutendoji says:

    That’s a really clever design, and I really love the way the rhinestones give it an extra bit of sparkle – keep up the great work!! Did you make the corn kernels with a special brush, or with a regular polish brush? You certainly have a steady hand!

  2. BROOKE says:

    Great job! The rhinestones I bet look really cute in person! Great idea!

Leave a comment