Tokyo Nail Expo Art Tip Award Part 3

The nail art rolls on…here are entries 51-76 from the Art Tip Awards. Here, we see some totally outstanding entries, which are among some of the best I’ve seen. And as far as I’m concerned, I need a little shiny joy in my life. I’m not going to harp on politics, but I need a distraction from all the crazy stuff that’s going on. So let’s take a look.

51-75

#51. A bit gothic, with some darker greyed out purple and 3D flowers. Like the color palette, bored to death by florals.

#52. Some maple leaves on white, pretty but not rising to the level of the other entries.

#53. Butterflies n flowers. Please. No.

#54. This entry is fantastic. While the nail base is crazy large (as it it would fit almost no actual human), the design stuns. It’s “kiriko,” or Japanese cut glass. It’s a traditional art form, where hot glass is slashed to put clear geometric designs onto colored glass. These nails look just like it and are fantastically well done. Let’s check the close up!

These get my pick for technique, uniqueness and matching the theme.

#55. Very well done geisha/maiko look. We’ve seen a lot of these entries, but this painting stands out for its detail and quality. The 3D floral look is well done too.

#56. More gesiha/maikos on parade, with some excellent 3D umbrellas and knotwork. Very nice use of color as well. Very nice job all around.

#57. ? Some blood n guts. And flowers. I’m mystified.

#58. Sumo wrestlers and a very drunk dog. I bet we won’t be seeing any more like this, so points for uniqueness. Well sculpted.

#59. Nicely done cranes that do a 2D to 3D transition, along with some maple leaves. Very nice detailing here.

#60. A butterfly and some frilly bits.

#61. Some Japanese “yokai” folklore characters and very Japanese looking flames. Beautiful detail.

DSCN9609.JPG

#62-65. All Japanese geisha/maiko figures. I’d say #64, shown below, is my favorite of the lot. All well done, but we’ve seen soo many of these.

dscn9673

#66. Bees, cotton ball clouds and sculpted strawberries. Unique but I’m not sure these really fit in with the theme. Another generic kawaii entry.

#67. Nicely done overall, with especially good sculpture. Little random bits and bobs from Japanese culture, including dolls, sea bream, goldfish and a daruma. Not sure how the circus monkey fits in. I’m not sure they were going for the Monkey Shines look.

#68. Haphazard lips.

#69. A bird of some sort fading into the most threatening cherry blossoms ever.

#70. While I’m getting crane burnout, this may be the best crane we’ve seen so far. The cherry blossoms are very well done, too. Grade A sculpting.

#71. Simple Mt. Fuji, crane, flowers.

#72. Cranes n flowers.

#73.  Futuristic flowers. Please no more flowers.

#74. More geisha, but very well done.

#75. Mix and match Japanese folklore- look at this painting and the level of detail!

 

My pick is #54, for the excellent execution and uniqueness, but this #75 is also a stunner. I hope everyone’s enjoying the entries. I have about 50 more to go through. There were a few flowers and a couple entries that weren’t really up to par, but there were also some great entries. I’m getting a little burned out on geisha and cranes, but they’re a common Japanese culture theme, so I’m not surprised we’re seeing a lot of them.

About nevertoomuchglitter

Nail artist. Wanderer. I'm a color-holic, in fact, it was my love of color that brought me to the nail art world. Well, that, and the fact I was too cheap to pay crazy Japanese prices for nail polish while living in Tokyo, so I had to start mixing my own. That's how NTMG began.
This entry was posted in Nail polish and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

