Tokyo Nail Expo 2016

Tokyo Nail Expo 2016 has wrapped up, and it was a great event, as usual.

Unfortunately, I’m having problems uploading photos to the blog on my mobile device, so will be a little short on photos until I can get to my computer. I have some photos on my Facebook and Instagram @nevertoomuchglitternailart for those of you who would like to take a peek. Below is a quick collage that I was able to upload, but the individual pictures are timing out.

image.jpeg

The start was pretty chaotic, since there was very little crowd control. There were thousands of people everywhere trying to get in and nobody to direct the line, so it was really chaotic.  In any other country, it would have been like running with the bulls, but the Japanese are pretty orderly, so it was OK in the end. But it was really miserable and a bad start to the event. Surprising, since her previous years they’ve had a good crowd control and manage to get everyone in an orderly line. Not for the faint of heart!

Once inside though, there was lots of glitter and things to look at. One trend was whole hand art. Rather than just the nails, people were also adding airbrushing, tattoo stickers and stick on stones all over the hands,rather than just nails. I don’t think this will work as everyday fashion  in a fairly conservative country like Japan, more as a look for a special event.

Japanese nail art has gotten more conservative over the past few years, and this year was no exception. Of course, there is some wild nail art on display, but in general, things are conservative. There were a lot of florals, plaids and textured designs for the upcoming fall/winter. I miss walking on the street and saying some crazy nails.  I miss walking on the street and saying some crazy nails. Now, the nailer on the street is downright… polite.

The entries for the Art Tip Award were pretty good this year. The theme was “Japanese Textures.” There were a few diehard hearts and flower entries, but we also had themes ranging from bondage (?!) to Japanese ‘kiriko’ cut glass.  Interesting how a theme can be interpreted in many different ways, isn’t it?

I do apologize for the lack of photos that I can upload, but everyone please out check out my Facebook and Instagram for some pictures. I will be back shortly with more photos so you can see some snapshots of the event. I just need to track down an actual Internet café. Do they still exist? 😉

About nevertoomuchglitter

Nail artist. Wanderer. I'm a color-holic, in fact, it was my love of color that brought me to the nail art world. Well, that, and the fact I was too cheap to pay crazy Japanese prices for nail polish while living in Tokyo, so I had to start mixing my own. That's how NTMG began.
This entry was posted in Nail polish. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

