Countdown to the Tokyo Nail Expo 2016

I’m super excited to be in Tokyo, where the Tokyo Nail Expo is starting tomorrow morning. Usually the expo is in November, but for some reason this year it’s end of October. It’ll be extra fun because everybody’s dressing up for Halloween. I see lots of people in costume of the street to Tokyo, which is not something I remember seeing a lot of years I lived here. It’s a really fun vibe.

This year, the theme is “Wa.” No, it’s not the sound made by adults in Charlie Brown shows, it refers to the Japanese word for their own culture. It’s basically a word that sums up the essence of all things Japanese. I’m way too jet laggedto think of a better explanation than that, but that’s pretty solid definition.

For me, the highlight of the event is the Art Tip Award, where nail artists send in press on nails they’ve made according to their interpretation of the year’s theme. We’ve had some disappointing runs in the last couple years, though. A lot of artists just ignored the selected theme and did cutesy flowers for Punk, etc. For a few artists, I had a feeling that they would submit the same nails no matter what the theme was.

I have some hope that this year will be a bit more creative than the last couple years we’ve seen. I hope people really take the theme into account and try to build a nail around it, rather than just doing the same old hearts and flowers endlessly. This year’s theme for the Art Tip Award is “Japanese Textures.” We’ll see what the Japanese artist do with a theme that would be very familiar to them. I’m hoping for some amazing work!

I’ve been in Tokyo for a few days, mostly eating, shopping and catching up with friends. I have really bad jet lag, because Japan time is just about opposite from New York City, but I’m making the best of it. 🙂

I hope the formatting of this is not too weird, because I’m using the phone to try to post and it’s not being cooperative. Sorry for the possibly weird formatting and lack of pictures for now. I will be back over the next couple days with all the details from Tokyo Nail Expo 2016. Stay tuned!

About nevertoomuchglitter

Nail artist. Wanderer. I'm a color-holic, in fact, it was my love of color that brought me to the nail art world. Well, that, and the fact I was too cheap to pay crazy Japanese prices for nail polish while living in Tokyo, so I had to start mixing my own. That's how NTMG began.
This entry was posted in Nail polish. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Countdown to the Tokyo Nail Expo 2016

  1. Formatting has come out great. Such a shame as ‘punk’ could have been so a amazing! I like that dressing up for Halloween is catching on in Japan as well 👻

Leave a Reply

