What I’ve Been Making, September 2016

I’m a huge fan of Halloween (even got married on that day!) so I’ve been dreaming of spooky nail designs pretty much since summer.

This will be my first “real” autumn in many years, as I was living in a tropical, seasonless area. I’m excited for crispy days and changing leaves, though I am not looking forward to the upcoming winter.

I’ve been playing with the trendy chrome powders/liquids, but I find it’s not terribly durable. Fun for a party look, but it doesn’t wear all that well. I’ve played around with a few different topcoats, but I haven’t gotten great results.

Making Sept 2016.jpg

Other stuff: Day of The Dead (always a fave here at NTMG!), some kimono-inspired nails on the top right, followed by groovy 3D bow and floral nails (probably because I’ve been watching the 70s Hulk TV show), purple spiderweb nails with chains and 3D spiders, some kawaii bomb nails with lots of lace, florals and bows, some jack o’lanterns, 3d Happy Birthday nails, some custom fall wedding sunflower nails (lower left), unicorns with star dangles, and some autumn leaves.

So jumbling around in my mind,  apparently I’ve got chromey knives with blood drips, kimono, groovy florals, unicorns, fall leaves, and Dia De Los Muertos. Sounds pretty accurate.

There will be more Halloween goodies upcoming, of course, and perhaps some weird sci-fi since I’ve been reading a lot of Phillip K. Dick. Perhaps some electric sheep nails?

This year, the Tokyo Nail Festa is on October 30 and 31 rather than the third week of November as it has been for the last 20 years, so I’ll be in Japan for Halloween this year. It should make for some fun nail art, but the timing is actually not ideal. Please note that this means ALL Halloween nails will need to be purchased by the evening of 23 October, since my shop will be on vacation from the 25th as I fly out to Tokyo very early in the morning of the 25th. Please order early!

About nevertoomuchglitter

Nail artist. Wanderer. I'm a color-holic, in fact, it was my love of color that brought me to the nail art world. Well, that, and the fact I was too cheap to pay crazy Japanese prices for nail polish while living in Tokyo, so I had to start mixing my own. That's how NTMG began.
This entry was posted in Nail Art, NTMG Original Nail Art. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

