Confessions of A Glitter Hoarder

I have a confession to make. I’m a glitter hoarder. This won’t be a surprise to anyone who’s been reading along for awhile. I say it sort of tongue in cheek, but now that I’m back from living overseas, I’ve seen how much pigment, polish, glitter and supplies I have…and it’s waaay more than I imagined. Part of it was the result of all the moves I made. It was much easier just to buy a duplicate than to hunt around for something in storage, provided I was even in the same country as my storage unit. But now that I’m getting everything assembled, it’s kind of a wake up call.

Yep, glitter hoarder. I confess. So now I’m trying to figure out what to do with it. I tried eBay, and I’m embarrassed to say I actually *lost* money. I’m not talking about not getting what I paid back for the items. It’s a given that won’t happen and I wasn’t expecting that. I mean I actually *lost money* because most of my items went for such a low price, I was out of pocket when Ebay and Paypal took their fees. So it actually cost me money to sell my items online. To borrow a Singaporean word, “Aiyoh!”

Oh, and I had buyer demand money back on Ebay after claiming an item was used when I had sent it off in new condition. That put me out of pocket for the item plus the shipping. Not only does the buyer get refunded in full, they get to keep the item. No more Ebay. I’d rather give it away than reward people with free items. It would also be cheaper to give it away, as I wouldn’t have to pay to deliver my stuff to their door. A wretched hive of scum and villainy, Ebay is!

It’s a bummer, but I just have Too.Much.Stuff. Now that I’m living in a pretty small apartment and all my junk is consolidated, it’s time to pare it down. I’m not sure how it will happen, as Ebay has been a bust, women’s shelters only want unopened goods, and I don’t know anyone in NYC who likes to franken. Maybe a blog giveaway? 😉 I’m open to ideas!

But just tossing all my things has proven to be a bit hard. I’m not to Hoarders-level ready jumping on the dumpster, but it is hard to acknowledge I have way too much stuff, spent too much money, and have waaay overpurchased considering how few nails I actually sell.

But before I chuck everything, I’m going to at least do some swatches.

Today, we’ve got Pure Luxe Pigments. I believe these guys went out of business a while back, but I don’t know any details. They actually had a nice range of affordable, good quality pigments that were intended for cosmetic use (eyeshadow, etc). Of course, I used them to make nail polish!

I used my trusty silicone mixing cup and regular old clear nail polish to swatch these. If you need some details on the basics, check out my Pigment Tutorial here.

Here’s the swatches. Though Pure Luxe is no longer kickin around, lots of other companies have similar pigments. I see the same colors duplicated from brand to brand, as many companies just re-package existing pigments.

img_1498

Copper Aura was very easy to work with and not too streaky, but That’s A Beachin’ Color was a problem child. It looks totally different mixed into the polish vs the jar color. Baldy spots and streaky city. Disco was also a mess. Disco is always a mess. It had a lot of baldy patches and took 4 lumpy coats for opacity. It was kind of a sparse microglitter with very little binder, so that might explain why.

img_1500

Oranges and tans fared a bit better than the pinks. Tangerine yielded a nice autumn color that I don’t have too many dupes of. Peach Champagne was a bit frosty for my personal taste, but had great opacity. Asp was a bit so so and was a bit streaky, but workable. Beach Party gave me a sort of creepy Yoo-Hoo purple-tingled milk chocolate brown. What’s in Yoo-Hoo, anyway? And why does it taste good and bad at the same time? Mysteries of the universe…

img_1503

Chocolate Grapes yielded a grandma-mauve, but had good opacity. Chocomint is a pigment I’ve seen tons of times before from MAC, Fyrinnae, TKB Trading and others. It’s a brown with green flash and would probably make a lovely eyeshadow for folks with green eyes. As nail polish, it gives me a kinda creepy baby-poo vibe. Maybe for Halloween? Boy Toy was a sea-monster teal frost which needed 3 coats for opacity. Sour Apple was really opaque but gave me ’80s flashbacks.

img_1505

Blueberry was a nice electric blue with a smooth finish. Grape was similar, but had a very fine grind so it took a lot more pigment to get opacity. The Liner Voodoo was meant to be eyeliner, so it was very opaque but chunky. I think the Liner blends were meant to be mixed in with some sort of blending agent and are definitely a different formulation from the other pigments. Jazzy was a gorgeous cornflower blue with purple flash that I’m keeping in my personal stash. 🙂 Razor was a pretty standard silver with good workability and a smooth finish.

img_1517

Tiger’s Eye was really different swatched than in the jar. It made a neutral bronzey gold that seemed like it would go really well with giraffe spots, for some reason.  Beauty Queen was a pretty copper with silvery flecks that would probably make a really nice eyeshadow. Glass Slipper was a whitish silver pearl with a really smooth finish.

img_1518

And some random close ups:

Pure Luxe.jpg

So, what do you guys do with your leftover cosmetics? Is there a secret stock exchange or a worthy cause to donate to? I’m open to suggestions!

About nevertoomuchglitter

Nail artist. Wanderer. I'm a color-holic, in fact, it was my love of color that brought me to the nail art world. Well, that, and the fact I was too cheap to pay crazy Japanese prices for nail polish while living in Tokyo, so I had to start mixing my own. That's how NTMG began.
This entry was posted in Mixed Colors (Frankens), Nail polish and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Confessions of A Glitter Hoarder

  1. Joanne says:

    A giveaway is probably your best bet to get rid of all of them in one go. Could you sell them on Etsy? I would love to take some off your hands but I live in Australia, and I don’t really use pigments. Good luck!!

    • nevertoomuchglitter says:

      A giveaway is a great idea! I need to think up something fun and work that in, maybe around the holidays. 🙂

Leave a Reply

