Color Challenge- Pantone 345

Today’s color is a midtone seafoam green with a hint of blue. It’s a bit like a robin’s egg, but a wee bit more green. It’s greener than photographed here. These pastel greens are always problematic for most cameras to capture.

DSCN1187

Here’s the colors I used for #345:

Susie NY is actually a Japanese brand, despite the name. Color Club Je Ne Sais Quoi has a bit of a grayed-out, dusty quality to it that will keep the final shade from being too bright. #345 is a muted tone, rather than a vivid one, so at least one of the franken colors will have to be muted. The Susie NY and Color Club mix was too dark, so it needed some white, which is where the Alpine Snow came in.  *Note: Although I used OPI for this franken, OPI is no longer cruelty-free as they sold the brand to Coty (tests on animals) several years back. I have lots of pre-Coty OPI, that I am planning to use up, but the brand is no longer cruelty-free.*

I mixed about 2/3 Susie NY with 1/3 Color Club and then added white drop by drop until I got the right shade. It took about 15 drops. Here’s what it looks like all mixed up:

DSCN1531

Not too bad, I think. Now that it’s on my nails, it kind of reminds me of vintage Fire King dishware. Like many of these pastel greens, it makes my skin tone look more red. It’s more pronounced in photographs than in real life, though.

This shade was crying out for some art, though. A simple stamp with a geometric design, a quick white tip with pearl, and I was ready to go!

DSCN1550

The key to getting this color right was not to use a yellow that was too vibrant. It needed to have a bit of a grayed out quality to it to yield a dusty color. If I had used a brilliant yellow, I would have gotten a leaf green. Cute, but not a good dupe. If you don’t have any of the grayed-out shades, then you can simply add a tiny bit of gray to the color to dull down the vividness of the tones. It will bring it away from the brighter quality and add that vintage feel. If you’re feeling very adventurous, you can go opposite on the color wheel of whatever color you’re mixing, but tread lightly with that as things can get muddy quick!

 

 

About nevertoomuchglitter

Nail artist. Wanderer. I'm a color-holic, in fact, it was my love of color that brought me to the nail art world. Well, that, and the fact I was too cheap to pay crazy Japanese prices for nail polish while living in Tokyo, so I had to start mixing my own. That's how NTMG began.
This entry was posted in Greens, Mixed Colors (Frankens), Nail polish. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

