What I’ve Been Making, June/July 2016

Hello all, hope those celebrating had a safe and fun 4th of July! I spent mine making a rush bridal order, but got to peep at the NYC fireworks from the roof of my building.

Summer is usually a bit slow for nails, as everyone is having fun at the beach or travelling, so I take the downtime to organize my supplies and do the more simple stuff (painting 50 sets of nails jet black), but it’s still important to do creative things to keep the juices flowing.

Making July 2016

 

I’ve gotten a lot of requests for stiletto nails, which are not my personal fave, so I’ve been making a lot of those. I’m always worried someone will do something really weird with them, like stick them up their nose, and then try to sue me. I’m looking at you, America! So please don’t eat them, stick them on your babies, play Wolverine with them, or use them as tiny daggers to passively-aggressively irritate your co-workers. It’s nice to be back in the USA, but what people sue for here can be beyond ridiculous. And I do read the details of the cases (McDonald’s hot coffee lady was in the right, I’d say. McD’s wasn’t supposed keep their coffee heated to nuclear meltodwn temperatures and did so after repeated incidences). Wear all NTMG stuff at your own risk! That includes blinding passers-by with glitter. 😉

I’ve been having a 3D bling moment- I mean, more so than usual:

Dynasty

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I made all these today. I have some ultra gooey gel from Japan that will stick anything onto nails. I do use epoxy and superbond-type glue, but there’s nothing like a sticky pile of gel to get all those 3D baubles on. I’m thinking that oval nails will be coming back in, from the looks of my Japanese nail art magazines, but I’ll keep adding some stiletto/coffin looks, since that seems to be popular. Japanese nail art has been getting more tame, so it’s up to me to keep the 3d nails going on until it gets crazy again. The nail art pendulum swings slowly…but swing it does.

About nevertoomuchglitter

Nail artist. Wanderer. I'm a color-holic, in fact, it was my love of color that brought me to the nail art world. Well, that, and the fact I was too cheap to pay crazy Japanese prices for nail polish while living in Tokyo, so I had to start mixing my own. That's how NTMG began.
This entry was posted in Japanese Nail Art, Nail Art, NTMG Original Nail Art and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to What I’ve Been Making, June/July 2016

Leave a Reply

