Del Sol Swatches and Finally On Instagram!

I’m back in the studio finally after spending a wonderful couple weeks in Mexico. It was my first trip, but I’m sure it won’t be my last. The weather was not great- lots of rain and clouds, but the scuba diving was nice, and oh…WHAAALE SHARRRK! Saw just one juvenile, but any whale shark day is a wonderful day!

Since summer is in full swing, it’s time to show some fun UV activated polishes that change color when exposed to direct sunlight. These are from a company called Del Sol. They sell polishes in well-touristed tropical areas like Waikiki Beach in Hawaii, Cozumel in Mexico, etc. as well as online.

I had a bunch of Del Sol polishes that stopped changing color. They still looked good, but would not change color even under a UV lamp. I learned that this is a common problem with UV-reactive polishes as well as thermals (the kind that changes color according to temperature.) After some time, the pigments just break down and no more color changes happen. It’s not unique to Del Sol, but their customer service was fantastic. I contacted them, and they promptly sent me replacements. I’m not sponsored by them or anything, but when I get great customer service, I like to let everyone know about it.

Here’s a few swatches to get the party started, no topcoat:

After Party

 

 

 

 

 

After Party- this was a dense purple microglitter that offered full coverage in about 3 coats. It changed to a lovely fuschia with a smooth finish.

Thistle The Day Away

 

 

 

 

 

 

Thistle The Day Away- a baby blue pastel that was a bit on the streaky side. It took three solid coats to get this one even, but the superfast and dramatic color change to a cool-toned medium pink made it totally worth it.

Don't Be Jaded

 

 

 

 

 

 

Don’t Be Jaded- this one had a nice glossy finish with full coverage in 2 coats. It dried really shiny and produced a color change to a nice blue-tinged forest green.

Don't Be Jealous

 

 

 

 

 

Don’t Be Jealous- this is a frosted baby blue that changes to a pale frosted green. The color change is not so dramatic on this one, but it was still a noticeable change. This one was good in 2 coats but polish carefully since it shows some brush strokes, as many frosts do. It wasn’t too bad, but they do happen with this finish.

Freesia Mind

 

 

 

 

 

Freesia Mind- whoa, this one had an incredible color change. It starts off as a pale yellow frost that actually doesn’t show bad brush strokes, possibly because the color is so light. It goes straight to a medium-toned frosted rose pink. It did take 3 coats for coverage on the yellow, but worth it for this color-changey magic.

Now You See It

 

 

 

 

 

Now You See It- this started off as a streaky neutral pink that took three coats to get even, but the change was eye-popping to a lovely dark wine purple. This one shifted really fast- almost instantaneously. This one was entertaining, as I kept sticking my hand in the sun and the shade and watching it change. Simple things, right?

Del Sol is cruelty-free (as is everything featured on this blog!) and can be purchased here. They frequently have sales and specials, so it might be worth checking from time to time if you’re planning on ordering a few bottles. I have had noting but really good experiences with them and I’m impressed by how they stand behind their products.

Also, I’m *finally* Instagramming! Check me out on IG at @nevertoomuchglitternailart to see some more behinds the scenes shots and more Day In The Life of a Glitter Addict. 😉 The account could use a few more followers, so please don’t be shy.

 

About nevertoomuchglitter

Nail artist. Wanderer. I'm a color-holic, in fact, it was my love of color that brought me to the nail art world. Well, that, and the fact I was too cheap to pay crazy Japanese prices for nail polish while living in Tokyo, so I had to start mixing my own. That's how NTMG began.
This entry was posted in Nail polish, Store-bought Colors and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Del Sol Swatches and Finally On Instagram!

  1. Selah Vita says:

    very cool colors!! and love the big changes in them…i found many colors seem to need 3 coats, but most salons try to skimp by with 2…that’s frustrating to me…i don’t want to see streaks after paying for the manicure, but sadly it’s happened too often….i like how you make it clear about the colors and your honesty! maybe i will check this new line out for the future! thanks for sharing good stuff…and glad to hear you enjoyed your vaca!!!

    • nevertoomuchglitter says:

      It’s my pleasure- I’m glad you found some useful info. 😉 Definitely insist on the 3 coats if you need it, since you’re the paying customer!

  2. JLovesBeauty_ says:

    Great post! I’m going to Mexico in a few week, and am very excited to pick up some Mexican beauty items! I’ll be sure to show you some love on Instagram! 🙂

    • nevertoomuchglitter says:

      Thank you so much! I wish I was going to Mexico too- love it there. I’m hoping to go in October/November, but we’ll see what happens.

Leave a Reply

