Color Challenge- Pantone Cactus Flower

Last post for a while before I’m off to Mexico. While I’m there, I’m hoping I will see some gray Whale Sharks, azure skies and turquoise water than Cactus Flower, but here goes:

This color is a neutral fuchsia (it took me three tries to spell that correctly) that reminds me of rhododendron bushes. Whoa, I’m only one sentence into this post and I’ve got two spelling bee words already.

DSCN1719

It’s a cheery color, the younger sister to a vampy burgundy. All this needs is some white and burgundy, and we’re ready to go. The trick will be finding a burgundy which is neutral, and not too warm or cool. A warm burgundy + white will yield a sort of blush pink, and a cool toned burgundy + white will yield a more outright purple shade. With very dark shades, you can’t always see the base color. Adding a lighter shade will reveal what colors are lurking within, though just mix a tiny bit to avoid wasting polish.

I experimented with a few burgundies, but Color Club Style Icon ultimately turned out to be the winner. The others were too warm or too cool to make Cactus Flower correctly  on their own (without adding other colors to balance it out).

DSCN1642

Color Club Style icon is a neutral deep burgundy which looks pretty fab on its own, but tends towards looking a bit goth. No complaints here, but I know most folks want to go brighter and lighter for summer. The white is my cheap ‘n cheerful Wet ‘N Wild, which goes for about 99 cents at most US drugstores. It’s a cruelty-free mass market brand that works very well in frankens. A good starter polish for experimenting. 🙂

As you can see, it took just a little bit of Style Icon in a sea of white to make Cactus Flower. It’s about 1 drop Style Icon to 12 drops white. When you’re mixing very dark and very light colors, I recommend adding the dark shade drop by drop to the light shade instead of the other way around. It gives more control over the final color. If you go the other way around, you may wind up mixing up a very large batch of color as you try to lighten the shade with tons of white.

I think it’s a pretty good match, no?

DSCN1856

I was tempted to make this into a raspberry manicure, as it reminds me a bit of fake raspberries- you know, in “raspberry swirl” ice cream or desserts. I knew I’d be obsessively painting the little crevices and tiny raspberry fuzzies, though, and I didn’t have time today, so I left it as is.

This is a question I’ve pondered before, but what the heck is “blue raspberry” supposed to be? It doesn’t actually taste like any kind of actual fruit, and it’s blue. Did food manufacturers just make it up to get some blue foods into kids’ diets? Why blue raspberry and not blue banana or something? Any food scientists out there to answer these burning questions? 😉

See you guys mid-June after I finish up my Mexican Adventure!

About nevertoomuchglitter

Nail artist. Wanderer. I'm a color-holic, in fact, it was my love of color that brought me to the nail art world. Well, that, and the fact I was too cheap to pay crazy Japanese prices for nail polish while living in Tokyo, so I had to start mixing my own. That's how NTMG began.
This entry was posted in Mixed Colors (Frankens), Nail polish, Pinks, Purples and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

