What I’ve Been Making, May 2016

I’ve settled into life here, but I’m hating the weather. Where the heck is all the spring and sunshine? It’s cold, damp and gray. Brr.

I’m off to Mexico next week for some scuba dive training! I am excited to go and hit the beach and see some underwater critters for some fun dives in between training dives (boring, in a blackout mask in deep water). I’ll also be doing my first cave dives. Exciting stuff!

I’ve been doing some custom work and my mind is clearly on summer as nautical themes have been creeping into my work. I was also introduced to the work of Dave Carender via a custom order request. He does weird and wonderful grungy cartoon art.

May 16 NeverTooMuchGlitter.jpg

The Dave Carender nails are the bottom left, and I got another custom request for Daria nails (bottom right). Despite being the correct age for it, I never actually watched the show. Back in those days, we didn’t have cable where I lived. Or real Internet. Kids these days will never know the pain of the screeching modem and other people trying to use the phone when you wanted to be on the Internet. Ah, how things change…

Anyway, you can see some blue nautical nails, some kawaiibomb glitter gradations as I’ve been thinking about my time in Tokyo, a kawaii salmon pink with retro bows and butterflies (longing for spring?), glitter gradation with my super-sparkly TiNS polish from Japan, some rather extreme crepe nails (a favorite snack in Harajuku). Apparently, I’ve been thinking about the sea, Tokyo, and glitter. Sounds pretty normal. 😉

I’m trying to feel enthusiastic about New York. So far, it is not happening. I want to return to the Far East, but I never want to move again. I’ve just finished unpacking and next time will just throw everything I own off the balcony. There’s a Japanese expression that translates roughly to, “Moving three times is worse than a fire.” I can vouch for that!

I’ll try to sneak in another post or two before I head off, but after that, it’s all blue skies and clear water (or at least I’m hoping!) I’m on the lookout for wonderful Whale Shark as well though it’s always hit or miss. So there may be some aquatic themes going on for the first couple weeks in June.

About nevertoomuchglitter

Nail artist. Wanderer. I'm a color-holic, in fact, it was my love of color that brought me to the nail art world. Well, that, and the fact I was too cheap to pay crazy Japanese prices for nail polish while living in Tokyo, so I had to start mixing my own. That's how NTMG began.
This entry was posted in Nail Art, Nail polish, NTMG Original Nail Art. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

