Daily Dose of Inspiration- Hedgehog Washcloth

I’m surrendering to my kawaii side. No use fighting it anymore, apparently.

Here’s my adorable hedgehog washcloth- from Japan, natch. It’s a conundrum. Too cute to use every day, but then what do you do with it? I’m very anti-clutter since I moved to the US, so I try not to keep things that don’t have a purpose. But hedgehogs!

DSCN1332

Yellow nail polish is hard to pull off, especially on me. But for hedgehogs, it’s worth it.

I made this lemon yellow with pigment, but it took 4 coats to stop being streaky. Yellows are the problem children of nail polishes, since they tend to be uneven regardless of the brand.

My hedgies look a bit deranged rather than cute. I did the leaves, because they seem to like those- or at least hiding in them. Another favorite of theirs is grubs, but that would have wrecked my kawaii groove here, so I stuck with the leaves.

For anyone who landed on my page wanting to help actual hedgehogs, here’s some good advice and more information from the RSPCA.

For everyone with gardens, please be careful with poison pellets and bait as they can attract hedgehogs and accidentally poison them and other small animals. Give those slugs and grubs a good send-off and leave a little dish of beer in the garden so they get drunk and drown themselves instead! I know bugs and varmnits are a real pain, but think of the other critters in the ecosystem that may be inadvertently affected when you’re controlling your pests. And though hedgies are adorable, they’re meant to be wild animals, not pets.

About nevertoomuchglitter

Nail artist. Wanderer. I'm a color-holic, in fact, it was my love of color that brought me to the nail art world. Well, that, and the fact I was too cheap to pay crazy Japanese prices for nail polish while living in Tokyo, so I had to start mixing my own. That's how NTMG began.
This entry was posted in Brights, Nail polish, NTMG Original Nail Art and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

