Color Challenge- Pantone 3278

What color is today? It’s a mid-tone green that reminds me a bit of Girl Scout uniforms, but leaning a bit more teal than those. Speaking of Girl Scouts, their Thin Mints have changed formulas. Though they became vegan (yay!), they also became greasy and tasteless. They went from being a super special treat to inedible. Vegan stuff can be delicious, Girl Scouts. Get it together! The reformulated Thin Mints tasted like a combination of baked lard and dirt flavored with an old peppermint candy that had been in someone’s coat pocket for a year.

Anyway, back to the color. It’s Pantone 3278. These greens don’t always photograph true to actual color, so I’ll show you the final mixup in a few different lights:

DSCN1728.JPG

My first thought was that it reminded me of Color Club Wild Cactus, which is a nice midtone green but darker than 3278. It has a nice formula, too- no streaks!

DSCN1637

This color only needed a bit of lightening to be a match. I used 7 parts Wild Cactus to 3 French White. Wet N Wild is a US drugstore brand and usually costs around a dollar per item. While their formulas are not always spectacular, they’re a very accessible cruelty-free brand that’s easy on the wallet. Perfect for frankens!

I gave it a stir and painted- here’s what I got:

Pantone 3278

You can see how it looks a bit lighter/bluer in certain lights. There’s something about shades with a yellow base that can cause this sometimes. It can also cause “lobster hands,” where skin looks unnaturally red in photos.

Personally, I tend towards darker or less vivid shades, so this one needed a little nail art to convince me to wear it outside. 😉

DSCN1800.JPG

I made a gradation look with some glitter, lotus flowers and shells for a peaceful, aquatic mani. Can you tell I’m ready for summer? The color on the tips is the original Color Club Wild Cactus. Bring on the sunshine!

About nevertoomuchglitter

Nail artist. Wanderer. I'm a color-holic, in fact, it was my love of color that brought me to the nail art world. Well, that, and the fact I was too cheap to pay crazy Japanese prices for nail polish while living in Tokyo, so I had to start mixing my own. That's how NTMG began.
This entry was posted in Greens, Konad, Mixed Colors (Frankens), Nail polish and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Color Challenge- Pantone 3278

  1. annatì says:

    They match perfectly!

Leave a Reply

