Daily Dose of Inspiration- Rajasthani Blanket

It’s no secret that I love colorful things and jewels, so of course I’m a big fan of Indian art! They love color and sparkles almost as much as I do, especially in the Rajasthan region where the textiles and art are particularly beautiful. I was lucky enough to travel extensively in the region and bought lots of textiles while I was there.

Here’s one of my favorite pieces:

It’s about 4 feet long and 2.5 feet wide, and covered in all manner of shiny things. 🙂 It’s a bit too small for my bed, and I’d hate to use it as a tablecloth and get it stained, so I think it will become a wall hanging.

Of course, before then, it’s an inspiration for some nail art.

Indian Textile Collage

I handpainted these with acrylic paint and gouache, and added a few jewels and metal studs here and there. Not as bling as the real thing, but I’m enjoying the look. I might do this as my first pedi of the year, since we’re finally getting some decent warm weather here. I’m not putting away my winter coat just yet, but I think spring is really here. Seems strange that one day can be coat-worthy and the next is suitable for shorts and a t-shirt, but I guess that’s NYC for ya.

 

 

About nevertoomuchglitter

Nail artist. Wanderer. I'm a color-holic, in fact, it was my love of color that brought me to the nail art world. Well, that, and the fact I was too cheap to pay crazy Japanese prices for nail polish while living in Tokyo, so I had to start mixing my own. That's how NTMG began.
This entry was posted in Nail Art, NTMG Original Nail Art and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

