Color Challenge- Pantone Fiesta and Tigerlily

Today’s color challenge is a nice, zippy shade called Pantone Fiesta 17-1564. It’s a warm-leaning slightly dusty red which reminds me of the American Southwest. It’s not a vivid, clean color, but more a sunwashed desert red. It is a bit darker than it actually photographs.

DSCN1362.JPG

This one needed a red and a slightly dusty colored yellow. A vivid yellow would yield a brighter shade of orange which would not capture the faded quality of Fiesta.

Here’s what I mixed, half and half:

DSCN1192

Let me say a couple of things about these shades before I show you the result. The Ruby Wing red is actually a solar color-changing polish,  as all Ruby Wings are. They have a color change in direct sunlight and shade. They’re a lot of fun, but after time, UV color changing polishes stop changing. I have had it happen across several different brands. For whatever reason, the pigment that allows for the color change breaks down over time. This Ruby Wing was one of them. It stayed a lovely, well-formulated red though.

Second note: Although I used OPI for this franken, OPI is no longer cruelty-free as they sold the brand to Coty (tests on animals) several years back. I have lots of pre-Coty OPI, that I am planning to use up, but the brand is no longer cruelty-free.

I was very pleased with this one- it’s a dead on match! Like most red-based shades,  it does not photograph its true color well, so I’ll show you the colors in a few different lights below. The darkest colors are the best match for the actual Fiesta, but you can see the polish matches it perfectly in all lights. 😀

Fiesta Collage

A color like Fiesta needs to have some nail art. It’s not a party with plain nails! A few decals and a couple Jet Swarovski rhinestones, and we have a true fiesta on our hands. Literally. Hey-yo!

DSCN1409

I had a bit of the Fiesta mix leftover after I finished the mani, so I decided to see if I could match another Pantone shade. I added some white to Fiesta to yield another Pantone shade, Tigerlily. I added Color Club White Tip drop by drop until I got Tigerlily. Here are the two shades side by side for a comparison:

DSCN1370

Here’s what the nails looked like:

DSCN1427

These are nice shades for summer if you want something a little different than the usual reds or pinks. A little yellow, and you can transform your classic reds into fresh corals.

About nevertoomuchglitter

Nail artist. Wanderer. I'm a color-holic, in fact, it was my love of color that brought me to the nail art world. Well, that, and the fact I was too cheap to pay crazy Japanese prices for nail polish while living in Tokyo, so I had to start mixing my own. That's how NTMG began.
This entry was posted in Nail polish. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

