The New Year Has Gone Topsy Turvy

Happy New Year everyone! 2016 is off to a rip-roaring start for me as I plan a BIG move to New York City after having lived in Asia for 15 years. It’s a very bittersweet move, as it will be good to be back in the USA, but I wasn’t really prepared for it. Like many others, Mr. NTMG lost his job through global outsourcing when his company moved his position to India. Or, as the company calls it, “right-shoring.” Not “down-sizing” or “off-shoring,” but “right-shoring.” Barf. Oddly enough, this business BS phrase failed to make any of the right-shorees feel any better. But what’s done is done, and we’re putting our travelling shoes on and headed to the Big Apple.

I have been packing endlessly and managed to whittle my polish stash way down. An overseas move (our third in 15 years! ) is a good chance to go through what you own and really pare it down to the essentials. I actually sometimes watch reruns of Hoarders on YouTube while packing to give me that extra push to be ruthless!

I’ll miss the food, the safety, the sunshine and definitely the ease of travel around Asia. But I’ll have lots of inspiration in NYC-museums, the fashion scene, and better access to lots of editors and publishers that I’ve been working with. I need to get licensed for nails in New York State, then I can do hopefully do some fashion shoots and other events from time to time.

Believe it or not, I will be pursuing a new and very physical career as a commercial scuba diver. I’ve got my very basic courses down and will have to train for several more months, but I found out I’m highly resistant to nitrogen narcosis and I’m small enough to fit in some tight spaces that the dudes might not be. This may mean I’m the only Japanese-translating, sparkly nail-loving commercial diver on the planet. I’m sure the macho dudes will love it! If commercial isn’t for me, I’m considering recreational work as well, but this isn’t a great option in the NYC area. This whole plan looked a lot better in the 30 degree Celsius water than in what is sure to be the freezingness of the Atlantic. We shall see. If it doesn’t work out, there’s always Japanese translation and glitter awaiting. Isn’t it a strange old world?

About nevertoomuchglitter

Nail artist. Wanderer. I'm a color-holic, in fact, it was my love of color that brought me to the nail art world. Well, that, and the fact I was too cheap to pay crazy Japanese prices for nail polish while living in Tokyo, so I had to start mixing my own. That's how NTMG began.
This entry was posted in Non-Nail Stuff and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The New Year Has Gone Topsy Turvy

  1. frankenstyna says:

    Best of luck on your big move. If you do nails in NYC, I’d love for you to do mine as I’ve been a fan of yours for a few years now 🙂
    By the way, NYC just got dumped with 26.6 inches of snow in one day. Not fun! I’m sure that will be a change of pace from your last 15 years.

Leave a Reply

