Tokyo Nail Expo 2015 Part 3

Still more entries from the 2015 Tokyo Nail Expo! The theme is “Happy Kawaii,” roughly translated as “Happy Cute.”

I’ve collaged the photos, otherwise this post would be too photo-heavy to load in less than a year.

Our first stop on the kawaii train is some food nails. Japanese folks go to some extraordinary lengths to make sure their food is as cute as it can possibly be- for example, they add seaweed emojis to rice balls to give them expressions. It’s practically a daily competition to see which kid has the most adorable lunch box. Hence, they do not generally disappoint when it comes to food nails.

image

Number 13, you need to step up your game. I think it is supposed to be a chocolate crêpe, but it looks like a mess.

154 has the requisite kawaii pastel colors  and the  cute cake, but not enough level of detail to be a good contender.

88 went crazy with the whipped cream silicone, but these are just so over the top I can’t help but smile.

115 is actually really well done. The sculpting of the popcorn is pretty amazing. There are also French fries, a mystery sausage (?), donuts, and something that looks like a candy-covered pizza. What’s more kawaii than that?

21 features Japanese snacks like onigiri (rice balls) and vegetables. A nice break from all the sweets nails. I feel like I need some vegetables in my life after looking at all these crepes!

 

126  has sushi, a signboard, and even a tiny sushi chef! I think we might lose points on the kawaii factor but these are really well done and the different take on the theme. I want to eat at this restaurant, where the sushi is huge!  They even have tiny fish eggs! If only they had been glittery…

32 features a picnic under a clear blue sky with a gingham cloth.  How kawaii is that? There is a tiny bowl of noodles, a cup of tea, egg omelette with ketchup, and even a tiny heart shaped fried egg. Wait. AND heart shaped pancakes too? Maximum kawaii points!

160 is my personal pick from this food collection. The details are just amazing. The photo in the lower right shows a close-up. It looks like an afternoon tea buffet. This artist has amazing control over their acrylic. I am not sure if they built the pieces individually and then attach end them, or built them directly on the nail. Either way it’s very difficult to get a look this good!

What do you guys think? What are your favorites? We are generally seen a better level of artistic talent this year, but I think that’s due to everyone’s comfort with the theme as compared to previous years.

About nevertoomuchglitter

Nail artist. Wanderer. I'm a color-holic, in fact, it was my love of color that brought me to the nail art world. Well, that, and the fact I was too cheap to pay crazy Japanese prices for nail polish while living in Tokyo, so I had to start mixing my own. That's how NTMG began.
This entry was posted in Nail polish. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Tokyo Nail Expo 2015 Part 3

  1. Nana says:

    Your article on the Nail Expo is so interesting that I feels so much wanting to go to the expo this year!

    How do I register? I am a freelance nail artist from Singapore. Would appreciate some advise and tips in going to the expo. Thank you so much!

    • nevertoomuchglitter says:

      There is no registration as far as I know but you will have to buy the tickets in Japan upon arrival. You can get them at the Expo or from a ticket service called Ticket Pia, Japanese lamgiage only so get a friend to help out. 😉 I believe they are 3000 yen per person per day. My tickets are provided for me so I’m not 100% sure on the public purchase details, though.

Leave a Reply

