Little Things That Make Me Happy, Part 1

I am a pretty simple person at heart. I don’t need a lot of entertainment or stuff, though I do spend a lot of time and money on travelling. It’s usually little things that make me happy.

Here’s one:

Almost every commercially available Konad stamping color, in rainbow order! (Excuse the random hot pink between the red and the yellow, it looked orange in the bottle.)

IMG_5310

Close up.

Konad

I use a lot of other polishes for stamping too. Metallics work well. I have been disappointed in Konad’s metallics, which are rather poor. I have tried some other brands of stamping polish, like MoYou and Born Pretty, but haven’t been really impressed. Almost any polish which is opaque in one coat can be used for stamping, but you may have to work more quickly with those than with dedicated stamping polish.

Konad has also come up short on topcoats. When I try their topcoat, it smudges almost every time. I have much better luck with Seche Vite or other standard topcoats. The main thing is not to drag the brush over the nail,  it’s more like a quick pressing it on with a very light touch. I do mine in three strokes- down the middle, then one on each side. If the brush drags at all, it will smudge the design, even if it’s dried.

So, a rainbow of swatches is one of my little pleasures. Even as a kid, I always had to have the biggest box of crayons and carefully arranged them in rainbow order.  I guess I was a color junkie from a young age. 😉

Other things that have made me happy lately:

  1. Tiny jackfruits growing on trees in my neighborbood. They will grow to be comically large, but are adorable when they’re just starting off and are the size of a ping pong ball.
  2. Burning a pumpkin scented candle because it’s almost October, even though that means nothing here as it’s seasonless. I still remember the feeling of a crisp autumn day.
  3. Finding a bunch of old photos (actual print ones!) of me and the Mr. taken sometime during the 90s. Bad clothes, bad hair…but no wrinkles. Hmm. Life is all about tradeoffs, right?
  4. Tiny ribcages!

IMG_5266

About nevertoomuchglitter

Nail artist. Wanderer. I'm a color-holic, in fact, it was my love of color that brought me to the nail art world. Well, that, and the fact I was too cheap to pay crazy Japanese prices for nail polish while living in Tokyo, so I had to start mixing my own. That's how NTMG began.
This entry was posted in Nail polish and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Little Things That Make Me Happy, Part 1

  1. Selah Vita says:

    As old as I am I still love collecting the biggest boxes of crayons ! Lol and now I have my collection of nail polishes, I can’t resist buying new colors!
    Have fun doing what you do, and thanks for the enjoyable posts!

    • nevertoomuchglitter says:

      You’re my color sister! I still love crayons too, and I have a couple of those coloring books for grownups.

      • Selah Vita says:

        lol…i have (only) one of those coloring books! BUT! i have a whole pinterest board dedicated to color therapy!!! YES, i’d say we’re sisters!! and i’m proud to be called that!
        thanks for connecting!! blessings!

  2. Joanne says:

    I recently organized my 700+ swatches into rainbow order. Now everytime I see them it makes me smile.

Leave a Reply

