Anyone Still Here?

Hello everyone! It’s been another period of inactivity here on my blog. 2015 has not really been my year as I was sidelined with 1) the flu, 2) pneumonia and 3) whooping cough all in a row. Whooping cough led to several cracked ribs. It did take me several months to get over all of those, and to be honest, I probably took longer to recover than I should have because I did try to paint nails while I was still not well. I did wear a painter’s mask (the lovely industrial sort with the hot pink air filters) but that also triggered bouts of coughing. So all in all, I was pretty much out of commission from March to end of July. I spend July and the beginning of August trying to keep up with some editorial work and leftover custom order (thank you guys for working with me on the time frame and being so understanding!).

Do take good care of your lungs. My pneumonia/whooping cough was not caused by chemical exposure, but long-term use of glitters, pigments and many chemicals found in acrylic and nail polish can cause similar issues. Always wear your mask and make sure your workspace is well ventilated. If you can’t breathe, you can’t do anything. Even simple tasks like a slow walk took twice as long and triggered major coughing fits. I was almost going out of my mind after several months. A lifetime of this would be incredibly difficult. Love your lungs and treat them right!

Public service announcement aside, it’s been just now that I’m getting caught up on the backlog and just starting to roll out some seasonal designs. Autumn is my favorite season, hands down, and it’s been fun just to try out some festive fall looks. It’s been months since I painted anything just for fun. It feels really good just to get the creative juices flowing again after being sidelined. Don’t get me wrong- I love production and editorial work, but that’s more pressure than just letting my imagination and paintbrushes go crazy. 🙂

I’ll also be headed to Japan in November for the 2015 Nail Expo. We’ll see what this year has to bring us! Japanese nails and fashion in general have gotten more conservative in the last several years, so I hope we’re swinging back towards wild and wonderful soon. If I see any more flower nails (a Japanese fave no matter what the theme), I’m going to scream. The contest themes for the last two years were ‘Adult Punk’ and ‘Fresh Flesh.’ Not flowery at all, yet there were way too many entries with butterflies and cutey pastel florals. People just ignore the theme and paint what they normally do. Flowers galore. Ugh. But we’ll see what this year has to offer.

Here’s some of what I’ve been doing:

autumn 2015 .nails by nevertoomuchglitter

It’s on the early side for Halloween, but if you’d like any nails from my shop, please order by the first week of October.

That’s all for now, thanks to everyone for still stopping by despite my long break from posting.

About nevertoomuchglitter

Nail artist. Wanderer. I'm a color-holic, in fact, it was my love of color that brought me to the nail art world. Well, that, and the fact I was too cheap to pay crazy Japanese prices for nail polish while living in Tokyo, so I had to start mixing my own. That's how NTMG began.
This entry was posted in Nail polish and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Anyone Still Here?

  1. Alessandra says:

    Oh my goodness, you poor thing! I’m so sorry that is what you have been dealing with this year. It sounds awful! I haven’t kept as busy on my blog as usual, but I did rename it (and work on a new look). I always look forward to seeing your holiday designs, your autumn nails look lovely as always. XO hope you are well!

  2. Selah Vita says:

    glad you’re back on your feet and doing much better…
    love your work…you’ve got some amazing talent!
    enjoy your trips and the beauty of what your eyes behold in scenery as well!
    can’t wait to see what you come back to share! 😉

  3. KwaiFei Chew says:

    looking forward for new post… take good care dear.

Leave a Reply

