Pneumonia and Whooping Cough..Oh My!

I’ve been sidelined from nail painting, due to a super unlucky combo of getting 1) pneumonia and 2) whooping cough. I feel like I’m collecting random childhood diseases. 😛

NeverTooMuchGlitter PSA: It may seem extreme, but if everyone around you seems sick and you live in a city, consider wearing a surgical mask when you’re out and about. I use public transportation every day, and there was a lot of coughing  going on. I didn’t think much of it at the time, until I got really unwell. I also didn’t get a booster vaccine against the whooping cough, so it snuck in while I had pneumonia. If you’re not into vaccines for whatever reason, then my mask advice goes double. Coughing until you vomit and bruise/crack ribs is really awful. I am walking proof of that!

Since chemical exposure is out of the question for my poor sad lungs, I’ve been spending my downtime practicing new techniques like watercolor, one-stroke, foiling and calligraphy. I tried to sneak in a little Konad and it started me coughing, so I’m behaving myself. Really and truly.

Luckily, I have a lot of already-painted base nails in my stash, so I got to just have fun and start decorating.

Stay well, everyone! I’m very torn on vaccines, since they are definitely tested on animals and benefit Big Pharma, but the diseases they prevent also cause a lot of suffering. Best advice: prevention! Wear a mask, wash your hands, and dodge sick people as best you can. I wish I’d followed my own advice! But I hope to be back on my feet in a couple of weeks and see you then.

Romantic Nails 2015 by NTMG IMG_2673 IMG_2607 IMG_2598

About nevertoomuchglitter

Nail artist. Wanderer. I'm a color-holic, in fact, it was my love of color that brought me to the nail art world. Well, that, and the fact I was too cheap to pay crazy Japanese prices for nail polish while living in Tokyo, so I had to start mixing my own. That's how NTMG began.
This entry was posted in Japanese Nail Art, Nail Art, NTMG Original Nail Art and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Pneumonia and Whooping Cough..Oh My!

  1. Tina Grossklaus says:

    So sorry to hear that you’ve been so ill.  I hope you are feeling better each day.  I love your designs and wish I could them on myself but all those dodads you put on top, the studs or pearls or fruit, they snag and come off.  Either in my hair or while making our bed, doing dishes w/gloves on…they’re not practical but they sure would be great for special event.  Wedding, prom, etc.  You do beautiful work and always wait to see your next blog.

    • nevertoomuchglitter says:

      Thanks for your well wishes- it’s much appreciated. I definitely agree that 3d nails are hard to function in! I keep them for special occasions, myself. You may find a UV gel topcoat goes a long way in preventing snags and missing parts because it smooths over the sharper edges. The downside is the stones have less twinkle and the nail is thicker. But for a big day, we gotta make some sacrifices, right? 😉

  2. Biel, Julie says:

    I hope you are better quickly! You’re right—you need to take extra good care of yourself until you’re better. Just my two cents on vaccines: I’m all for them because they save lives. I hate that animals are tested, but currently that’s the price they pay for us to live. I agree completely with you, though, that animals should never be tested for beauty products. I try to tell everyone I know to avoid buying L’Oreal, Lancome and Maybelline, and just about all drugstore items except Physician’s Formula and ELF. I used to be a great customer of NYX. What a trick that owner played on us! Same for Urban Decay. Who cares if some products are vegan if they are allowing testing? I really don’t know who to be loyal to anymore. For upscale products, I’m still into Too Faced and Tarte. There’s almost nothing left.

    Take good care of yourself so you can get better and share more of your beauty and art with all of us!

    Julie

  3. Selah Vita says:

    sorry to hear how sick you are…please take good care of yourself and i’ll be sending up some prayers for you to get well soon! btw, love your artistry…you do have a gift!

    • nevertoomuchglitter says:

      Thank you for your kind words! I’m taking care and being kind to myself as I’m recovering. I’m so glad you like my art and I’ll be back with some as soon as I’m painting again! 🙂

  4. I’m so sorry to hear that you are sooooo sick. I know what pneumonia is like, because I nearly died from it while going through chemotherapy last year, and I can only imagine how awful whooping cough is. I’m pretty sure my doctor gave me a booster shot last year after I was so sick, but I’m definitely going to check with her on Wednesday when I go to see her. Praying you will be well again soon and it’s not too long before you are back doing your beautiful nail art again.

  5. Diseases can cause so much frustration especially if they will keep you from doing the things that you usually do. By the way, I love your nail art. Love the designs. I look forward to new posts and updates!

    • nevertoomuchglitter says:

      Thank you! I am 100% better now but it took months. I still wheeze a bit when I exercise really hard, but other than that I’m back to normal. But nail polish/chemicals are a total no-no when your lungs aren’t totally well. I look forward to showing some more designs now that I’m back in the studio. 🙂

  6. missbunnyfreebeauty says:

    These are so beautiful! I’m glad to hear you’re feeling better, what a rough time! The universe is bound to repay you 😉

Leave a Reply

