March 2015 Roundup

Whoa, it’s almost April already. Hard to keep track of time in a seasonless place! I’m zipping off for a short beach break tomorrow, which is very exciting. I also have pneumonia, which is not so exciting. So I’m headed off with steroid inhaler, antibiotics and bathing suit. Not ideal but it happens.

I’ve been doing some custom work (hello, spring brides!) and a lot of swatch/testing with a large bunch of pigments from a company called Kolortek. Here’s the second half of the swatches, featuring blues, purples, pinks and metallics. Click to enlarge!

These were pretty nice, a few problem children in the group but most performed  very well. The metallic silvers are opaque enough to be used for stamping.

IMG_2505IMG_2517

IMG_2513 IMG_2515 IMG_2516

Lots of interesting possibilities here. I sometimes add pigment to my Konad stamping polishes, if they’re too sheer. I’m not sure if the bottles I got were just duds, but Konad put out some very disappointing silver and gold shades that were near impossible to use. With some pigment mixed in, they’re workable. But still a big thumbs down for those Konad metallics! They should have done better, pretty much being the inventors of stamping.

I’ve also got (my personal fave!) interference pigments to play with. Those are the ones that look white but reflect different colors over a dark base. But being that I am coughing like crazy all the time, I’m taking it easy. I do wear a mask whenever I work with pigments, but measuring out powder + being overtaken by a coughing spell= colorful dust everywhere.

And a couple photos of the nail art I’ve been working on recently. For some reason, I’ve been on a big Japanese 3d nail kick (yes, I know that’s pretty much all the time) but it’s been especially frenzied lately. Something about spring makes me want to stick even *more* stuff onto my nails. Not quite sure why, but there’s what I’ve come up with recently.

IMG_2569  Purple Goth Lolita IMG_2440 IMG_2461 IMG_2497 IMG_2558

Marsala BurgundyMonopoly Nails NTMG

All right, Typhoid Mary is over n out. Hope everyone who’s celebrating has a lovely Easter and Passover! And stay away from people who cough a lot (like me at the moment.)

About nevertoomuchglitter

Nail artist. Wanderer. I'm a color-holic, in fact, it was my love of color that brought me to the nail art world. Well, that, and the fact I was too cheap to pay crazy Japanese prices for nail polish while living in Tokyo, so I had to start mixing my own. That's how NTMG began.
This entry was posted in Nail polish. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

