A Gentle Reminder About Picture Reposting

Hello everyone! I love it when you like, share and reblog my nail art. But lately, I’ve been finding people have been downloading my photos, cropping them to edit out my watermark, and then re-posting them. This means that nobody knows the original source of the picture. Boo! I spend a lot of time making nails, photographing them and editing, so it’s not cool to remove the watermark. I have tried to keep the watermark small and unobtrusive, but I will unfortunately have make it more prominent.

While I realize this is not all that big of a deal and may be done without any malice, there is another brand of people out there who are also people using my photos as their own and even adding their OWN watermarks to my work.

The rottenest people of all are those who are “SELLING” my work-i.e., they just steal my photo, post it on Ebay and offer it as a photo of an item for sale. Of course they don’t have the actual nails I made nor the ability to make them, so the customers get nothing. It really bugs me to know my work is getting used in a scam. People buy the nails based on the stolen photos, get cheated, then my good glittery name gets smeared by association. 😦

So, folks,  if you enjoy sharing photos, please don’t crop out watermarks and try (I do know in some cases it’s just not possible) to attribute the original source. It does make a difference to those of us who create art for everyone to enjoy. And please let me know if you see my work being ripped off anywhere or offered for sale, I do sell on Etsy, but not anywhere else, so if you see my work on Ebay, etc. it’s phony. Thank you all very much! ❤

About nevertoomuchglitter

Nail artist. Wanderer. I'm a color-holic, in fact, it was my love of color that brought me to the nail art world. Well, that, and the fact I was too cheap to pay crazy Japanese prices for nail polish while living in Tokyo, so I had to start mixing my own. That's how NTMG began.
This entry was posted in Nail polish and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to A Gentle Reminder About Picture Reposting

  1. J.D. says:

    It’s bad when it happens I took down a 3kplus photo filled website due same thing. Our photos showing up all over mainland China

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

  2. Sad to hear that. I heard someone else had this problem and managed to make them remove some of her photos, and she linked to this site: picturedefense.blogspot.com

    • nevertoomuchglitter says:

      I have contacted Ebay and stuff when I see them “selling” my nails. Thanks for the info,I will check it out. It is discouraging, but we just have to accept it that there are unscrupulous people out there, though I will hate to use a big ugly watermark going forward. 😦

Leave a Reply

