Goodbye 2014!

Ah, it’s that time of the year again. 2014 has drawn to a close. This year was pretty good for me, as I got in some international travel to Myanmar, Indonesia, the Maldives, Japan and Cambodia. Travel is (almost) always something I enjoy, and it’s my main hobby besides glitter.

This year was a kind of…quiet…year. I joined a gym and started exercising, which was a big change for me. I was beginning to get some serious back and neck aches from being stooped over and painting, so I started exercising to try and get some more strength and better posture. So far, so good.

As far as nails went…it was kind of slow. I haven’t done much work I really loved this year. I find being out of Japan has really put a damper on my creative spirit. I find a lot of inspiration locally in Indian design, though. Mostly by applying ridiculous amounts of rhinestones onto nails. 😉

But creatively, it’s been a kind of meh. I don’t want to insult any local folks and the following is totally just my opinion, but I find the creative energy in Singapore is somewhat lacking. There’s just not a lot of artsy stuff going on here. I mean, there’s a couple boutique-type streets with way overpriced hipster tat ($400 messenger bags, anyone?) but art is not a big part of daily life here. As a”kiasu” kind of place, Singapore seems to be about making money and one-upping the people around you by having the most material goods. High-end shopping is a national hobby. Get a Rolex watch, a brown Louis Vuitton bag, and a Mercedes if you can afford it. Those are the things to aspire to.

Needless to say, as a gal who has a dollar-store bag and a flea market watch, I am not down with this. I’m happy with my simple band of gold wedding ring, ancient Nokia phone and flip-flops. To be fair, I have met some lovely people here, but the kiasu/brand zombie thing drives me crazy. All these things sort of combine to put a damper on my creative spark, somehow. I find I do much better work when I’m happy, relaxed, and have creative people around me. But I’m going to keep at it and try to work through the artistic doldrums. Luckily, I do recharge my batteries through travel, and living here makes a great base to visit Southeast Asia. So there’s a counterpoint to the negative stuff. 🙂

All right, enough rambling! I know most of you guys are here to see pretty nails, not read my crazed musings, right? I’m staying in with Mr. NTMG tonight, but that’s no excuse not to have blingy nails for New Year’s Eve!

IMG_0424

IMG_0475

Wishing everybody a very healthy and happy start to 2015! May your year be filled with glitter and joy. 😀

About nevertoomuchglitter

Nail artist. Wanderer. I'm a color-holic, in fact, it was my love of color that brought me to the nail art world. Well, that, and the fact I was too cheap to pay crazy Japanese prices for nail polish while living in Tokyo, so I had to start mixing my own. That's how NTMG began.
This entry was posted in Holiday Nails, Nail Art and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Goodbye 2014!

  1. Wow I’d like to travel to Japan, Indonesia, Maldives, … ! How an amazing year for you!
    Happy New Year beauty!
    https://saragutierrezalcaraz.wordpress.com

  2. Wow! Those are some of my dream destinations! Interesting to hear what people think is important and to learn about kiasu behaviour. Maybe we have the same phone. LOL! Love your New Year nails! I’m also into square glitter now.

    • nevertoomuchglitter says:

      I love square glitter. OK, well, I love ALL glitter, but I’m also really feeling the square lately. It’s fun! I didn’t mean for that post to be so negative, but it was coming from an honest place. 😛 And yay for old phones- just gives me more money to spend on nail goodies and travelling! I’m hoping to make a trip to Bhutan this year- can’t wait to get to the Himalayas. Could be pricey but that’s why I don’t buy expensive stuff, right? 🙂

  3. chips48 says:

    These are amazing. Where did you get the little clock face please?

    • nevertoomuchglitter says:

      I got them from a nail shop in Tokyo that stocks crazy charms and decoration bits. They are also pretty easy to make out of Fimo or Sculpey clay, too.

Leave a Reply

