Tokyo Nail Expo 2014 Art Tip Award Roundup

Howdy, everyone. I’m currently down and out with what I think is the flu (gross question: can flu include vomiting on top of respiratory symptoms/fever/chills/fatigue/body ache?) which is a bummer but has allowed me to do a few critical things: look through my junk drawer and find a missing camera memory card and sort through my hundreds of Nail Expo photos. Plus I had time to make some photo collages, otherwise this post would have been  unbelievably long.

It’s been a December to remember…came home to plumbing that decided to start leaking while we were out of town, broke my poor iPad while knocking it off a shelf, then getting the flu. No Christmas tree this year, I’ve been too laid up to do any decorating. 😦

Anyway, back to the nail art! The Tokyo Nail Expo Art Tip Award features 5 nails that are pre-made before the contest by various artists. The theme this year was “Otona Punk,” which can be translated as “Grown Up Punk.”

I’m not going to mince words. I am totally disgusted with most of the entries. Some were more skilled than others, but many of the contestants just totally disregarded the theme and did butterfly nails. Or flowers. Or geishas. Or…whatever they wanted, which, on reflection, is kind of punk. But I’m pretty sure that wasn’t part of the rationale.  Hearts and flowers are pretty, but I’m so tired of artists relying on that and using them *whatever* the theme may be. If it was up to me, it’d be an immediate disqualification.

Here’s a montage of some not very punk nails entered in the competition. Click to enlarge. I’m really not sure exactly what was going on when some of these were made! Though some of them are very nice work, Hearts.And.Flowers.Are.Not.Punk.

This Is Not Punk 2

 

This Is Not Punk 1

Then, we sort of had an interpretation of punk that seemed to be Punk= Gothic/Halloween. Not exactly, but at least a little closer than butterflies, flowers or geisha.

Halloween Is Not Punk

At least there was some effort, even if it looks more like Halloween.

And some things just got bizarre, like adorable kittens, leopards and flamingoes. But at least there was some plaid in there.

Exif_JPEG_PICTURE

And this one. At least it has a Union Jack and some chains to offset the giant neon flowers?

Exif_JPEG_PICTURE

And while punk is on my mind and it’s December 20, check out Billy Idol singing “White Christmas.” Yes, Billy Idol did a straight-up album of holiday tunes. How weird is that? And I like it! His version of “Frosty The Snowman” is the only one I can handle. However, even Billy Idol can’t save my all-time unfavorite Christmas song, Santa Baby. I heard a Chinese version here. It was even more unbearable than English.

I will try to get some holiday looks up but as of now, I’m so achy I can hardly even sit up, let alone paint nails.

Hope everyone is having a wonderful end to 2014, whatever you might be celebrating, and looking forward to more wacky nail wonder in 2015!

About nevertoomuchglitter

Nail artist. Wanderer. I'm a color-holic, in fact, it was my love of color that brought me to the nail art world. Well, that, and the fact I was too cheap to pay crazy Japanese prices for nail polish while living in Tokyo, so I had to start mixing my own. That's how NTMG began.
This entry was posted in Nail polish and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

