Minna No Nail (Everybody’s Nails!)

Today I have some scans from the Japanese nail art magazine Nail Up (I think- but it might be NailMax), showing user-submitted nail art. Japanese nail art did go through a somewhat understated phase in the last few years, but there’s still some crazy art to be had. Just to be clear, these are not my work, but just too crazy not to share! The grand prize is 10,000 yen, or about $100USD. Not much considering the amount of work some of these required, but it’s all about glittery glory, right?

Everyone's Nail Art 2

Most of these are nice but rather standard- I see some leopard print, a Union Jack, some florals..and WHOA BABY! Some outrageous nails with humongous bejeweled jaguars, a fan, and…whoa. These won the 10,000 yen, but I’d guess the jaguars alone cost a chunk of that. Japanese nail art at its wacky finest.

Everyone's Nail Art 1

For super decorated nails, the pointy shape is most popular. They seem a bit dangerous for everyday life, but that’s what’s in. I have seen some gals out and about in Tokyo with nails like this, but it’s not the usual. The more jewels and 3D sculpture, the better!

Everyone's Nail Art 3
Some fun designs here- check the water marbling + 3D florals on the upper left corner, plus som M&Ms, some handpainted anime characters, Spongebob, and some bold graphic black/white and gold. The winner is this round is the butterflies with the thumbs-up icon next to it (center right).

I’ve been doing some work for an upcoming Lolita style guide to be published in Europe later this year. Along with some other editorial work, I’ve keeping pretty busy. But since I feel the need to add some of my own wacky nail art to the blogosphere, here are some teeny Boy George nails I made with a stamping plate:

Boy George Nails by NeverTooMuchGlitter

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I heard Karma Chameleon on the radio for the first time in ages, and then these nails just happened. 😉

About nevertoomuchglitter

Nail artist. Wanderer. I'm a color-holic, in fact, it was my love of color that brought me to the nail art world. Well, that, and the fact I was too cheap to pay crazy Japanese prices for nail polish while living in Tokyo, so I had to start mixing my own. That's how NTMG began.
This entry was posted in Japanese Nail Art, Nail Art, NTMG Original Nail Art and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

