Tokyo Nail Expo 2012- Nail Art Contest Part 2

Without further ado, more nail entries for the art contest at the Tokyo Nail Expo 2012.

Disco rap pandas? Love the teeny sunglasses and gold chains.

 

A very vibrant set of nails featuring: Ameyokocho in Ueno; Shibuya, the ever-present Sky Tree (being scaled by a cat, no less); the Asakusa/Sensoji Temple area and Tokyo Tower. Love the colors and classic kawaii style- I mean, why shouldn’t Tokyo Tower be wearing high heels? 😉

 

 

 

My photo is lousy, but these nails are fantastic. The painting job on them is exquisite. It features traditional Japanese florals, a sumo wrestler, goldfish, the Tokyo Sky Tree, Tokyo Tower, and an old-fashioned Edo-era prostitue called “oiran.” These would be my vote for Top 3, if not for the overall winner. I wish I had a better photo, but the organizers shooed us through very quickly and I hardly had a chance to focus!

 

This entry features some Tokyo landmarks (Tokyo Tower, Rainbow Bridge (?) and the Sky Tree) done in a retro European Style. Each of the nails has one or two mini picture frames stuck to them, along with roses, bows and butterflies. Hard to wear but they make lovely art.

 

Another lovely traditional set featuring old-fashioned Japanese florals. Beautiful attention to detail on these and a very steady hand was certainly required!

 

An intriguing set featuring a playing card theme. I’m not sure what this has to do with the “Tokyo Character” theme but it’s very nice work nonetheless! Anybody know?

 

Back to some fantastic 3-D sculpture goodness. These should get a lot of points for their Japanese-ness- the color palette and the design couldn’t be anything else!

 

A Tokyo montage (Rainbow Bridge, Sensoji Temple and yup…the Sky Tree) with kind of a stained glass twist. The expression on the bottom panda’s face is cracking me up- he looks like he’s getting mugged! Times are tough at the Ueno Zoo- as they should be, since it’s a like a horrible prison for animals. Boo for Japanese zoos, which are very behind the times.

 

About nevertoomuchglitter

Nail artist. Wanderer. I'm a color-holic, in fact, it was my love of color that brought me to the nail art world. Well, that, and the fact I was too cheap to pay crazy Japanese prices for nail polish while living in Tokyo, so I had to start mixing my own. That's how NTMG began.
This entry was posted in Nail polish and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Tokyo Nail Expo 2012- Nail Art Contest Part 2

  1. That’s pretty funky! But is it actually wearable? It looks so heavy

  2. I agree with you that the one with the purple background is very beautiful! I think my favourite is the one with the beautiful kimono and red paraso, with black background. And I like that pandas seems to be popular this year! 🙂

  3. These are really amazing nail arts, only goes to show how creative Tokyo people are. Personal fave is the girl wearing a kimono.

  4. Lisa Mc says:

    Yo… the rap pandas are awesome. 😀

  5. Tanya Burns says:

    🙂 i love them xx

Leave a Reply

