Tokyo Nail Expo, Day 2

The second and final day of the Tokyo Nail Expo was another great day with more contests, demos and vendors with lots of goodies.

The fashionable shape this year is still oval or almond shaped. I hardly saw any square at all, except in the French Tip contests, which is good since I’ve never been a big fan of the sharp square shape.  My favorite shape is a slightly squared-off oval as that’s easiest to wear and looks the most natural, but the look is definitely towards a more pronounced oval.

Some of the nail art trends highlighted at the show were:

Trend 1: Metallic detailing. Personally, I find these a bit difficult to wear, but the trend now is for a shorter oval nail with metal charms at the nail base on one or two accent nails.  Metal rings, bullion (those tiny metal balls) and studs were also popular.

Trend 2: Lots of handpainted plaid and tweed:

I like the tweed art and have featured it on my blog/in my shop before, but the fake Chanel logo is a bit much for me. I guess it could be seen as a tribute to Chanel, but it’s a knockoff logo.  The problem is, the salons charge a ton for these metal designer logos! I’ve also seen Louis Vuitton ones and Dior ones. I’m not a designer brand type of gal anyway, so maybe I’m missing the point totally. Rock ’em if you like ’em.

Plaid and tweed nails came in all kinds of colors and designs, from traditional autumnal shades to cute pastels:

These nails feature some amazing handpainted diagonal plaid and metal parts. Two points for trendiness!

And of course, blingy nails abounded!

Phone cases and business card cases also got the bling treatment too.  The trend seems to be for a pattern in smaller stones accented with larger stones for interest.

Stacks of GLITTER in every shade imaginable!

Some examples of gel nail art. Lots of marbling and animal prints, plus the usual florals and French tips.

And…my personal favorite event, the Nail Tip Art Award (yes, that’s what it was called.) I do have a ton of photos, but they need to be edited since the glare on the exhibit was really terrible and they need some Photoshop.  I’m still on the road in Japan away from my main computer, so I’ll be showing those to you after I get back in a few days. But for now, here’s a little teaser:

One of the entries to the nail art award contest. The theme was “Tokyo Characters.” These have cats, a puzzle, pandas, the new Tokyo Sky Tree, macaroons, and sunglasses. Ah, wacky Japan, I love you!

About nevertoomuchglitter

Nail artist. Wanderer. I'm a color-holic, in fact, it was my love of color that brought me to the nail art world. Well, that, and the fact I was too cheap to pay crazy Japanese prices for nail polish while living in Tokyo, so I had to start mixing my own. That's how NTMG began.
This entry was posted in Japanese Nail Art, Nail Art and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Tokyo Nail Expo, Day 2

  1. Rabbit says:

    Thanks for the photos. I am waiting for more 🙂

Leave a Reply

