Pigment Purples

Going through the pigment stash has been a lot of fun! I collect purples: lipstick, polish, pigments…but I hardly ever wear it. I have a drawer full of purple lipsticks that I’ve bought but never wear, since they make me look rather sickly. But somehow they still call to me! I’ve been better about shopping more carefully, since I don’t want to be wasteful, but the lure of a vampy purple is hard to resist!

But I can put my purple pigments to good use! Lookee here…

And here’s their nail polish twins!

And, going light to dark:

MAC Quietly- A silvered lavender pink. Nice and smooth, but I’m not into these frosty shades on eyes or nails. The pigment was very smooth, though!

MAC Pinked Mauve- This one was actually prettier on the skin than as a polish- it has some very elegant gold shimmer in it that got lost in franken translation. I dislike this color as eyeshadow, though, since it makes me look like I’ve got a cold, or have been crying.  All that aside, very nice and smooth pigment as usual.

Fyrinnae Helena & Demetrius- a gorgeous periwinkle with a soft champagne gold shimmer…that clumped badly in the nail polish. Boo!

Coastal Scents Metallic Pixie Purple- A smooth, standard medium purple with a hint of metallic finish. Smooth formula with no clumping, but somehow the color is a bit neither here nor there. It’s not a pastel, not a vampy, and not bright- sort of unassuming. I prefer my color a bit more amped up, but that’s all a matter of personal taste.

Coastal Scents Blackstar Red Mica. This is a warm burgundy purple and the pigment formulation is fantastic. Smooth, rich, and not a clump in sight. Really outstanding and it yielded a pretty darkish shade that would be great in winter or for a goth look.

Fyrinnae Fyre and Ice- Another problem child as nail polish, but I have hopes for it as eyeliner. The base is black, with very fine dark purple shimmer in it. The downside of this is, the black in the mix overwhelms the purple in polish and yields a virtually black polish. Several companies have a similar formula- blackened base with a color shimmer in it, and all of them perform the same way, unfortunately. I did find this one badly stained my hands black.

About nevertoomuchglitter

Nail artist. Wanderer. I'm a color-holic, in fact, it was my love of color that brought me to the nail art world. Well, that, and the fact I was too cheap to pay crazy Japanese prices for nail polish while living in Tokyo, so I had to start mixing my own. That's how NTMG began.
This entry was posted in Mixed Colors (Frankens), Purples and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

