Off To A Manicure Exam!

I’m off to my manicure exam this morning, with Mr. NTMG coming along to model. We have 50 minutes to do a full manicure with filing, cuticle work, hand massage, etc. One hand is to be painted red, and the other hand (streaky!) baby pink with handpainted French tips and nail art. And- no topcoat allowed! Yikes. I feel confident but I will be glad when this is over with.

Wish me luck, everyone! I’ll let you know how it goes later. Keep those glittery fingers crossed!

About nevertoomuchglitter

Nail artist. Wanderer. I'm a color-holic, in fact, it was my love of color that brought me to the nail art world. Well, that, and the fact I was too cheap to pay crazy Japanese prices for nail polish while living in Tokyo, so I had to start mixing my own. That's how NTMG began.
This entry was posted in Nail polish. Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Off To A Manicure Exam!

  1. Tera says:

    Good Luck!!!

  2. chichibee says:

    Good Luck!

  3. beachgal says:

    Hope your model subject had good cuticles and decent nail beds.

    • nevertoomuchglitter says:

      I actually pulled Mr. NTMG, which was lucky. We all bring a model, and they draw numbers. I just happened to get matched with him. He has large, lovely nails but I did spend too long on his cuticles in the beginning. He got some looks strutting around with one (hairy) hand red and one with baby pink/French tips, but he’s always a good sport. ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. Samatha says:

    Good Luck!

  5. Erin Elizabeth says:

    Good Luck!

  6. saroeun says:

    Good Luck ! From Paris

  7. How exciting! Good luck! ๐Ÿ™‚

  8. kayleighmk says:

    Good luck! I’m curious, why don’t they allow topcoat?

    • nevertoomuchglitter says:

      It can kind of disguise any errors in painting, like brushstrokes, etc. We have to use a specific color for the test, unfortunately it was OPI Big Apple Red, which I did happen to have an old bottle of in my stash. The test is painting one hand red (cause if you get it on the cuticles it will stain, so it’s easy to see if someone messed up) and baby pink, which is streaky as heck so needs a good steady hand to apply.

  9. Laurianna says:

    Perhaps the topcoatncan hide flaws in painting by softening edges? Good luck, if a bit late! Hope you did well! Keep us posted

    • nevertoomuchglitter says:

      You got it- topcoat can kind of camoflauge a bad application, so it’s not allowed. I’ll have to wait a month for the results, boo!~

Leave a Reply

