Franken With An Old OPI

Hello everyone! I’m sorry it’s been a while since I’ve posted anything- between nail school and a summer holiday in Indonesia, I’ve been out and about quite a lot.

My nails and cuticles are an awful mess since we’ve been practicing extensions on them. Luckily, I have more frankens to show you in the meantime. Is everyone tired of glitter yet?

I have a good stash of nail polish I’ve built up over the last several years (surprise!) but I find some colors I just never use. I really dislike frosts and sheer finishes. Some people can rock sheers, but for me, it just seems like the color is incomplete. As for the frosts, unless it’s an exceptional color, the finish seems really dated to me. Plus brush-strokiness can ruin even the most careful application, depending on the level of frost.

One of the polishes in my stash that needs some franken love is OPI Man of La Mancha. Let me issue my standard disclaimer here: all my OPIs were bought before Coty acquired OPI in 2012. When they were independent, OPI didn’t test on animals but their new parent company does. So we’re through. But I do have OPIs in my stash to use up.

Man of La Mancha is a sort of sheer duochrome red with a slight orange shift. It’s pretty sheer until the 4th coat, which is too much work for me! It works best layered over red so the orange shift can really show. It lacks depth on its own.

But this leads to glittery opportunity! It’s sheer enough so that any sparkles or pigment will show through nicely. MOLM got the glitter treatment with my iridescent TKB Trading pigments. I think it’s a big improvement! Best of all, it’s opaque in 2 coats rather than 4.

Image

What do you guys think? Anyone like sheers? I just never got into them. I can work them into a French or Konad under or over them, but I just can’t get into them on their own.

About nevertoomuchglitter

Nail artist. Wanderer. I'm a color-holic, in fact, it was my love of color that brought me to the nail art world. Well, that, and the fact I was too cheap to pay crazy Japanese prices for nail polish while living in Tokyo, so I had to start mixing my own. That's how NTMG began.
This entry was posted in Oranges and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

