Glitter Layer Frankens with Opaque Colors

I’ve been making some frankens over the past few days with some sheerer polishes, but today I have another type to show you.

If a polish is opaque and glitter or pigment is mixed into it, the result will usually be a clumpy mess. Glitter won’t show through opaque polish. The best way around this is to thin the polish down with clear polish (try 1/3 clear polish to 2/3 color at first, then keep adding clear polish if it’s still too opaque.) This should yield an easier polish base to work with.

Another way around this is to do a layer franken- just paint on your original color, then add a glittery topcoat to change the color. There are a lot of sheer sparkle topcoats on the market- one of my favorites are the CND effects, which are microglitter in a clear base. They’re nice and smooth and look great over a variety of polishes.

Of course, you can also mix your own glitter topcoats! Easy as pie. Just add a small amount of the glitter to some clear polish, mix well, and use as a topcoat over your base color.

I was looking for a kind of 50s retro green, which I made with 1/2 China Glaze Lemon Fizz (light yellow) and 1/2 CND Anchor Blue. It made a very nice, opaque vintage-y type green that was good to go in one coat.

For a true retro-inspired look, this color probably does look best without glitter (perish the thought!) but I played and made a glitter topcoat with clear polish and TKB Trading microglitters.

Image

I really like this robin’s egg type of color. It’s more of a spring shade, I suppose, but I always like soft vintage kind of colors. I almost want to add little dots to it so it looks like a real robin’s egg!

About nevertoomuchglitter

Nail artist. Wanderer. I'm a color-holic, in fact, it was my love of color that brought me to the nail art world. Well, that, and the fact I was too cheap to pay crazy Japanese prices for nail polish while living in Tokyo, so I had to start mixing my own. That's how NTMG began.
This entry was posted in Nail polish and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Glitter Layer Frankens with Opaque Colors

  1. sugarcube717 says:

    Hey your lava lamp nails are featured on the Beauty Army Facebook page. Love!

Leave a Reply

